Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-11-2005, 08:39 PM   #1
eel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default New to MAYA

I have just installed MAYA on my existing PC after using 3d Studio Max for some (very) amature modelling and animation. I do plan to learn this new and exciting program over the next few months. My question is more related to PC hardware as i am planning to buy and build a new PC this December.

My current graphics card throws up errors when starting MAYA but then this is not surprising as it cost very little. I have looked on the Alias website and they do have tested graphics cards that are recommended for running the MAYA application. However, I would be most grateful if any of the experts out there could reccomend a 'good' graphics card or at least what i should be looking for in a graphics card without breaking the budget.

I am not talking high end stuff here but need to understand what features the card should employ that will enable me to enjoy the MAYA application to its fullest.

Thanks.
eel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 07:57 PM   #2
eel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, 27 reads with no reply. Is it a dumb question? I really need help with this before i spend my hard earned cash! :headbang:
eel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 08:16 PM   #3
mrcome
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi, i guess this is the first time you join forum board
welcome
this is not a dumb question, but if you try google the website, you might found some experts already gave out some spec.

by the way, be patient, i guess "expert" would help you soon.
mrcome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 08:32 PM   #4
blomkaal
Subscriber
 
blomkaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 816
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

There's been some difficulties with ATI's Radeon series, so unless you're going for the FireGL, I'd reccomend getting a GeForce rather than a Radeon, which should run fine as far as I've heard...

If you're looking to make some high poly stuff at some point however, you should probably invest your money in some more RAM if the errors you're getting now aren't so bad that they get in the way of using Maya...
__________________
Liter is French for 'Gimme some ****ing cola before I break vous ****ing lips!"
blomkaal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 09:30 PM   #5
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

GeForces are actually less compatible than Radeons according to Alias -- but my experiences with GeForces shows they're fairly easy.

Personally I'd softmod either a Radeon or a GeForce to a FireGL or a Quadro depending on what you got. Several cards are unmoddable though.

For certain GeForces: http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17109

Again, you void your warrenty and there are some cards which won't work (including anything with 7800 printed on it)

And yes "Increase" is a typo, I meant to say "decrease your render times"

Last edited by Phopojijo : 15-11-2005 at 09:36 PM.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.