Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-12-2005, 09:22 AM   #1
Dinky
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Cloth Constraints!

They just aren't working.

I select the verticies of the suspendors, then I select a locator and constrain. It then calculates as if the constrain never existed!

I tried the verticies on the suspendors then the belt model and constrain, still no dice.

Anyone know a good tutorial that explains cloth constraints? Anyone the answer to my problem? 'Cause this sucks, I can't continue with the work on my character until I fix this!!!

Oh and what attribute makes the cloth more stiff?? And can two pieces of cloth have two different 'cpProperty"s and/or two different 'cpSolver''s.

Help!!!
Dinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2005, 02:49 PM   #2
Razor Blade
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

When you put constraints on cloth, you have to update the cloth state which is found under the simulation menu, that should solve your constraint problem...

the attribute that makes cloth stiff in the cloth property is the bend resisitance and also the stretch resistance....

and two pieces of cloth CAN have different properties, all you do is asign the chosen property to the panel...
Razor Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2005, 04:42 PM   #3
Dinky
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I always detele the Cache after I change something in Cloth. That's Maya Cache 101 .

It just doesn't simulate the way it's supposed to. I think it's just too much to simulate. I edited my scene, took away the model and the t-shirt and all, and just had those suspendors, then I simulated that, then it worked properly with the constraints. Except the verticies were flying everywhere. And I think that's just because it needed to be stiff... But I dunno.

I've been trying to find some other way to animate it so it looks like cloth but... Nothing's coming to mind.
Dinky is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.