Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-01-2006, 11:26 AM   #1
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Normal mapping programmes?

What third party normal mapping programmes do you prefer? This is my first time at normal mapping. I've tried the surface transfer option in Maya but eventually Maya crashes, I've tried Melody but cannot seem to get the texture to apply correctly.

What would you suggest for me to use in order to normal map a character for gaming purposes that is pretty straight forward or well documented on?

Thanks all!
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 11:28 AM   #2
pixelsoul
Subscriber
 
pixelsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

umm actually i only know one.. so can't compare but z-brush has a normal plugin atm

http://206.145.80.239/zbc/showthread.php?t=031281

the docs are pretty big
pixelsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 02:09 PM   #3
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Thanks, though I only have the demo version of Zbrush and the plug in doesn't appear to work with the demo. Anyone else?
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 03:55 PM   #4
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wow have u seen the vids on the site
can u expot the models u make in zbrush into maya?
man i want that now
ps. how much is it in the UK £ as all english places there dont give price
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973

Last edited by pbman : 04-01-2006 at 04:06 PM.
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 04:26 PM   #5
pixelsoul
Subscriber
 
pixelsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yup you can import / export obj importing in z must have model with all quads though..

Originally posted by pbman
wow have u seen the vids on the site
can u expot the models u make in zbrush into maya?
man i want that now
ps. how much is it in the UK £ as all english places there dont give price
pixelsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 04:36 PM   #6
Pyrus
Subscriber
 
Pyrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fries Fries Fries
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by pixelsoul
yup you can import / export obj importing in z must have model with all quads though..
Hi,

Yeaaah :bandit: , clearly ZB is the solution but if you want it the Maya way only, and as I don't know your Maya version, I drop these I found some time ago :

January 10, 2005 : recompiled normalMaps for Maya 6.0
January 10, 2005 : recompiled rayDisplace for Maya 6.0

There are also quite interesting infos on the homepage : http://www.drone.org/ (but 6.0 yes)

Let us know if you find smthg else interesting and newer, but I fear not
Pyrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 04:42 PM   #7
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Yeah I'm using Maya 6.0, but the problem is Maya keeps crashing when doing the normal map in maya itself so I was looking for an easy to use third party normal mapping software package instead. Thanks for the links anyway though I already have them!:headbang:
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.