Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-01-2006, 01:31 PM   #1
Pyrus
Subscriber
 
Pyrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fries Fries Fries
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya 7.0 - Ressources at render

Hi simplymayers,


Got some important question related to ressources.
Well, important to me, considering that in Maxon Cinema 4D, even during heavy rendering (high sampling, areas shad, GI, caustics, SSS and amb_occl e.g.), I could still work and render in the same time.


My problem in Maya is that, as soon as I start a render, even the lightest possible (soft.render as for MRay), I just can't do anything else than wait rendering's end.
Is that normal in Maya ?


BUT the worst point is yet to come. Considering I would skip track in winamp, for example, as soon as I click the quick launch icon, everything displayed in Maya disappears, well, windows become white with a grey titlebar but everything else vanishes as if Maya only had crashed. When rendering's over, Maya wakes up and I can see the result. Imagine how convenient it is .

I order to see, for example, the calculation of FG tiles, I must do absolutely nothing else. And even in this case, it happens it still disappears. For example when the scene becomes more complex.

I tried also lowering MRay BSP as Memory limit.
But, no way

Hardware is :
- Asus K8V Deluxe
- Athlon64 Clawhammer 3200+
- 1Gb Corsair XMS/XPert CL3
- SATA WDigital Raptor
- ATI 9700 Pro-128 Dual/DVI (with old catalyst 3.11 driver cause it's the most compatible for games)


Well, thanks for any clue regarding the hardware and issues. I love Maya, but really it's giving me hard time with Architecture FG_GI renderings. Ow, last thing, it's same with IPR renderings.

Pleeeeeeeeeeaz Heeeeeeeeeeeeeelp :shakehead
Pyrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 05:32 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

hey bud.

In regards to memory issue mental ray hogs alot of memory while rendering I don't know any tricks but I personally think that your 1gb of memory may not be enough.

to fix the renderview refresh issue exit Maya go to the icon you usually launch from. Right click on it goto properties. click on the compatibility tab and turn on run as select windows 2000. This should fix that issue

good luck
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 06:36 PM   #3
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: Maya 7.0 - Ressources at render

thats how maya is.



Originally posted by Pyrus
Hi simplymayers,


Got some important question related to ressources.
Well, important to me, considering that in Maxon Cinema 4D, even during heavy rendering (high sampling, areas shad, GI, caustics, SSS and amb_occl e.g.), I could still work and render in the same time.


My problem in Maya is that, as soon as I start a render, even the lightest possible (soft.render as for MRay), I just can't do anything else than wait rendering's end.
Is that normal in Maya ?


BUT the worst point is yet to come. Considering I would skip track in winamp, for example, as soon as I click the quick launch icon, everything displayed in Maya disappears, well, windows become white with a grey titlebar but everything else vanishes as if Maya only had crashed. When rendering's over, Maya wakes up and I can see the result. Imagine how convenient it is .

I order to see, for example, the calculation of FG tiles, I must do absolutely nothing else. And even in this case, it happens it still disappears. For example when the scene becomes more complex.

I tried also lowering MRay BSP as Memory limit.
But, no way

Hardware is :
- Asus K8V Deluxe
- Athlon64 Clawhammer 3200+
- 1Gb Corsair XMS/XPert CL3
- SATA WDigital Raptor
- ATI 9700 Pro-128 Dual/DVI (with old catalyst 3.11 driver cause it's the most compatible for games)


Well, thanks for any clue regarding the hardware and issues. I love Maya, but really it's giving me hard time with Architecture FG_GI renderings. Ow, last thing, it's same with IPR renderings.

Pleeeeeeeeeeaz Heeeeeeeeeeeeeelp :shakehead
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 07:20 PM   #4
Pyrus
Subscriber
 
Pyrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fries Fries Fries
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

LoooL Vlad ... simple, clear hehehehhe


Roach, thx a lot for this wonderfull advise, it works perfectly.
Even tried launching C4D lol, then back to Maya, nothing draws back, EXCEPT the render view hahahahahah

Final step is then adding 1gig at least.


Thaaaanks a lot dudes :bow:
Pyrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.