Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-01-2006, 02:44 PM   #1
edoplaza
Registered User
 
edoplaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Paint effects and Mental Ray

I noticed I can't render paint effects with Mental Ray (am I wrong?)

I figured out a simple solution: to convert the paint effects into a poly mesh. But, what about if I want to animate all that?

Is there another solution?
edoplaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 05:09 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

paint effects will not render in mental ray unless to convert it to polys.

Maya will keep all the stroke history so animation does not get lost in the conversion.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 06:06 PM   #3
edoplaza
Registered User
 
edoplaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the answer roach105!
edoplaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 07:24 PM   #4
edoplaza
Registered User
 
edoplaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

By the way, I'm trying to create a tree with paint effects. When I convert the stroke into polys everything goes ok. But when I try to manipulate the original stroke, everything goes slow! I can't even move my perspective camera without trouble. Is this something to do with the graphics card??? I have a Nvidia 5200 - 256- and 1 giga of ram memory.
edoplaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 07:38 PM   #5
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

my recommendation is to manipulate the stroke to what you need before converting.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 01:03 AM   #6
edoplaza
Registered User
 
edoplaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I painted this tree for a composition I'm working on right now; it took me like 2 hours to get acceptable results (too many parameters: mesh, branches, flowers, buds, leaves, etc., etc.). At the end, the thing was hugh, specially when converting to polys: more than 3 million faces! Even with 1 giga of ram, Maya crashed badly.

Later I saw the problem: I had too many subdivisions (7 for each branch, 4 for each leaf and so on). I reduced all that and then, I got a nice 300.000 faces polygon tree...

Then I duplicated the poly tree and moved the copy a little to the right, faking a bigger tree.

I saw at CGTalk a different approach: render the tree in Maya software and then compose it with the rest. As I'm not sure how to do that, I chosed the first way.
edoplaza is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.