Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-01-2006, 06:40 PM   #1
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How hard can it be to make rope?!

Im not sure where to post this so I hope this is right. I am having toruble making some rope. I know it sounds silly.

I started with simple Polygon tubes and thought I could get away with just putting a nice texture on them but that's not really going so well so I have residned my self to making all the rope on my HMS Victory WIP again

So with that I did a little search on the both the internet and on this site and the best I came up with was mhcannon's Make a Quick Rope (Part 1) thread but I am having poblems with it. For a start my rope is looking more like an umbilical cord than anything else. I like the twist but it's way too slack.

Please help if you can.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 09:32 AM   #2
jhubbard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol umbilical cord, i dunno what you could do but wouldnt it be easier just to make a texture and apply it to a cyclinder, i dunno good luck the ship looks sweet btw.
jhubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 10:46 AM   #3
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's what I thought but all the textures I hvae don't look that good. The camera might go fairly close to them so I want them to have a bit of texture. Foiled at the last hurdle

:headbang:
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 06:54 PM   #4
kennez
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England - and proud of it!
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you're interested, I could do them for you in Lightwave. There's a cool plugin called Rope Editor which allows you to do just this. If you are interested, send me the specs of the ropes you want and I'll take a look at doing them for you.
__________________
Cheers,
Malcolm

'England Expects That Every Man Will Do His Duty' - Vice-Admiral Horatio Lord Nelson - Battle of Trafalgar - 21st October 1805
kennez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 07:31 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I would try to instead make it straight and then use the Twist deformer.



You get some flares at the end, but you can cut those off.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 09:58 PM   #6
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the offer kennez, but im not sure how easy it is to get models from lightwave into Maya and if the model will actually be altered in the transition.

I have tried Mike's method and liked it. The only problem is that it needs to be twisted way more to have it looking like the same sort of rope on the Victory.

I am now experimenting with this method of using the new Maya 7 primitive of the Helix. Basicaly it makes a spring so all you need to do is duplicate it 4 times each rotating 90 degrees to get to the picture below.

The only problem is that is adds loads more polys to an already big file and may make rendering a bit of a problem, but if that's the only problem then I guess I will have to suffer that.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 10:35 PM   #7
kennez
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England - and proud of it!
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Tim_LIVID
Thanks for the offer kennez, but im not sure how easy it is to get models from lightwave into Maya and if the model will actually be altered in the transition.
It's actually quite easy to transfer models between the two, and nothing is lost in the process. There are a number of different ways (OBJ, FBX, 3DS).

Mike's method looks like it might be extremely useful.
__________________
Cheers,
Malcolm

'England Expects That Every Man Will Do His Duty' - Vice-Admiral Horatio Lord Nelson - Battle of Trafalgar - 21st October 1805
kennez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2006, 10:50 AM   #8
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well kennez, if you could just do us a wee bit of rope in lightwave and up laod it then I could have a looka dnsee how good it is.

If it too big to fit here you can upload it on www.yousendit.com
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2006, 02:04 PM   #9
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have found another method which I think might be the one for me. Slightly different to Mikes but along the same lines. I thought I would post it here just incase there is some poor guy searching the forums.

You basicaly make a four leaf clover shape, use curve snap and put it on the start of the curve and then rotate it so it is looking down the curve ready to extrude.

Goto Surfaces -> extrude optionbox and click the circle buttons for the first 4 lines all on the right side then extrude.

Click the geomerty you have created and open the channel box, click on extrude1 then type 600 and you get the picture below.

It's light on the geo and should be that hard to move around and make the shape you want.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.