Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-01-2006, 06:48 PM   #1
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Independant UV problem..odd

Hi,

Just when I almost done with laying out the UV and moving and sewig the dress...I ran into a odd prob.

When I layed out the UV...and cutting and sewing it, I noticed there was 2 UV patch missing on the UV panel. So after everything is done and I put a checker on the dress to see if it stretched...that is when I finally saw 2 independant UVs. I deleted those 2 faces. Append the missing ones and cut the UVs up and sew them (actually it), but it only let me sew 1 UV patch and the other is still very independant.
You can see from the picture. What should I do?

I went to edge mode after cutting that independant UV patch and select the edges of the dress...but the edges of that patch is still not selected.
Attached Thumbnails
 
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 06:58 PM   #2
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This may sound a bit too silly but couldn't you just move the UVs into position using the snap to point so it's in the right place without having to sew?
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 07:04 PM   #3
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

snap to point? never heard of that before...can you be specific please?
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 07:11 PM   #4
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well if you select the UV (or anything for that matter) and then hold down 'V' while using the Move tool it will 'snap' what you have selected to the nearest point (like another UV or Vertex).
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 07:20 PM   #5
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Didn't work. I extracted a nearby polygon face and combined and snap and merge vertice. But still the UV layout looked the same. It is still an independant UV. Help.
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 07:23 PM   #6
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im not 100% sure what you are trying to do. Are you just tring to get that rogue face and it's UV's back into line with the rest of your model and it's UV map?
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 07:38 PM   #7
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got it! All I had to do was delete the independant face and snap the verts and merge, then use the split tool to allign it. And in the UV editor, I move and sew it.....Yeah! My prob solved.
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 08:21 PM   #8
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Tim.
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 08:25 PM   #9
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's alright, im just glad you found the solution to your problem.

With or without me :p
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.