Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-03-2006, 02:13 PM   #1
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Popular MEL scripts?

What MEL scripts do you use on a regular basis and what do they perfom? Also, what is the mjpoly script?
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2006, 06:58 PM   #2
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I use the MJPolytools whenever I model. They are a series of scripts that do things like add edge loops and things like that. Get them. They are free.
__________________
James Rogers
www.morphicmotion.com
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2006, 08:54 AM   #3
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I downloaded it yesterday but I get seem to make any sense of it, and the online instructions are down
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2006, 03:26 PM   #4
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

just put the mel script in your script directory [username\mydoc~\maya6.0\script]


and run MJPolyTools; in script editor.

if u want the menu at start just put "MJPolyTools;" in your user set up script path [C:\Documents and Settings\usrName\My Documents\maya\6.0\scripts]

or similar directory
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2006, 03:31 PM   #5
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Yeah, I've got it up and running in Maya Vlad, but I'm not sure how to use it or what it's for :S I've heard its a great tool for edge loops etc, but it doesn't seem to do anything, so I'm presumingI'm using it wrong, and the instructions/documentation on it is down
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2006, 06:06 PM   #6
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

try selecting an edge and hit "Edge Loop Split". this would be the most used function from MJPolyTools I guess.

another script I use constantly for modeling is SpinFaces.mel
you can find it at http://www.knower.it/ in the digital art section.

TemplateSkeletonLE.mel by Paul Thuriot is a must for rigging.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 09:45 AM   #7
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Any idea where I can source that MEL script Falott? I've googled it worded several different ways and don't appear to be getting close.

Thanks
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2006, 06:02 PM   #8
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

just do like vladimirjp told - put both scripts - the MJPolyTools and the MJPolyToolsUI into your scripts directory, update your userSetup.mel (type -> MJPolyTools which is also in your scriptsDirectory and restart maya. I case I misunderstood and you need the script itself, here you go. alltho it is written for maya4.0 it is also running with maya7.0 which I use.

you can also put the iconFiles into your local pref/icon directory

good luck!
Attached Files
File Type: rar mjpolytools1.3.rar (21.2 KB, 19 views)
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2006, 07:02 AM   #9
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Hi Guys I just tried to install MJPolyTools and when I try to execute MJPolyTools;

I get the following Error:
MJPolyTools;
// Error: Object's name is not unique: MJPolyToolsMenu //

Any Idea what I've done wrong?

Thanks
Paul
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MEL headache! happymat27 Members Lounge 5 05-12-2010 09:43 AM
MEL headache!! happymat27 Mel Scripts & Programming 1 03-12-2010 04:41 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.