Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-03-2006, 06:02 AM   #1
migodka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ripping DVD to AVI/*.tga

Hi,

Wasn't too sure where to post this, hopefully not in the wrong forum area:

I want to rip a DVD into a .avi (or preferably *.tga - targa) file. Reason is, is that I have some old work on DVD that I would like to add to my 3D maya showreel.

I'm aware that there are some freeware bits of software out there that can convert DVD to .avi but I have a feeling they are for home use and wouldn't be of sufficient quality for a professional showreel.

To my knowledge I don't think Premier Pro 2 / After Effects etc. can do this.

Any advise much appreciated.

Thanks
Jo
migodka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 06:16 AM   #2
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

It all depends on how many frames you need to remove from the DVD. Understand the footage is already compressed and there will be a loss in Quality.

You could use WinDVD and simply step forward and use its snapshot feature. The files will be save to your PC in jpg format.

You could convert the VOBs to AVI and then import it into Premiere Pro and then export in TGA format.

Hope this helps.

or you could go to the best site on then net for this stuff:
VideoHelp

regards
Paul
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 06:05 PM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

never tried it but cant you do it in after effects, import the file then exprot as a image sequence?

I've used this for an AVI file and it worked fine
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 10:07 PM   #4
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Yes AE will allow you to export image sequences.
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2006, 05:05 AM   #5
migodka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for your advice, I will try those things.

Many thanks
Jo
migodka is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.