Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-03-2006, 02:57 AM   #1
mayakid14
Registered User
 
mayakid14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default String to Int

Does anyone know if there is a way to convert a string to an int or a float.
Example:

string $mystring = "15";
int $myint = ($mystring - 1);
print $myint;

Maya doesn't execute this script because $mystring doesn't really have a int value. In BASIC I think this concept would be written as:
Dim mystring As string = "15"
Dim myint As integer = (val(mystring) - 1)
MsgBox(myint)
The VAL function works in BASIC but it won't work in MEL. Of course it doesn't seem like MEL hasa VAL function but is there an alternative?
__________________
I hope you didn't waste your time reading this line.
mayakid14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2006, 09:23 AM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

you're talking about casting.

you can cast a string like this:

string $strVal = "150000";
int $intVal = (int)$strVal;
float $floatVal = (float)$strVal;


and you can go the other way too:

int $intVal = 1545;
string $strVal = (string)$intVal;


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2006, 02:35 PM   #3
mayakid14
Registered User
 
mayakid14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

Whoa thanks a bunch. Never thought there would be a way for this. Couldn't find anything in the reference commands or anything.
You're Awsome
__________________
I hope you didn't waste your time reading this line.
mayakid14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2006, 03:12 PM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

no problem. Casting is common in many programming languages.


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.