Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-04-2006, 03:40 AM   #1
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Changing edge colors

By default polygon edges are green when you select the model. What I'm looking for is a way to change the color of any NEW edges or edge loops that I add to the model so that I can tell which edges are new and which are original.

I like to lay out the polygons for my model so that they follow the muscle flow of the creature I'm making. It gets pretty messy sometimes when I'm trying to re-route edges into different directions. Before I get to a point where I can begin deleting some of the original edges, it begins to look like a plate of spagetti. If there is a way that you could add new edges/edge loops that were are a different color from the originals, it would be much easier to see what your doing.

So, does anyone know of a way?
__________________
James Rogers
www.morphicmotion.com

Last edited by Velusion : 10-04-2006 at 07:31 PM.
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 10:04 PM   #2
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

This probably doesn't help, but I remember reading that you can change the wireframe colour by selecting the object and going to display>wireframe color. I am at work, so I can't check, but I am wondering if you could do this with certain edges. Or if not, maybe you could develop your model to a certain stage and then duplicate it, change the wireframe color on the duplicate, make modifications and then somehow overlay the new one over the old to see the changes?
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.