Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-04-2006, 12:21 PM   #1
Goofy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Render only shadows shader

Hi!
I want to know if there is any shader in maya that only renders the shadows that is cast apon the object? Or is there one available for download somewhere?

In this tutorial that type of shader is mentioned but for 3d max.
http://www.rethinkfx.com/tutorials/compmax.htm

"So now we want to render out out shadows for the whole sequence. MAX comes with a material called 'shadow/matte' that will only render shadows cast on the object this is ideal for our purposes. We can apply this material to the objects in the scene such as my proxy CPU, desk, wall and cup."

//Goofy
Goofy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 06:47 PM   #2
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Actually, you can render shadows seperately for any material you're using. It depends on which version of Maya you're using but, basically, you just assign the model to a render layer then choose to only render the shadow pass. Then you composite the pass with the other layers in After Effects or one of the other compositing programs.
__________________
James Rogers
www.morphicmotion.com
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2006, 08:28 PM   #3
Goofy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks alot for your help!
But i found that the "use background"-shader was what i was looking for :p
Goofy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.