Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 16-04-2006 , 08:50 PM

Problems creating a Video using Mentaly Ray

I'm new to animating.. and i've been using tutorials for a while.. so i decided to make a little project of my own.. now..

So i used metal ray dielectric materials to make these spheres i had.. act like they are glass.. and so i made a motion path for them.. and then i tried to use maya software to render the scene but the balls were moving in the scene but they were solid-white... and did not look like glass...

So then i tried to use mental ray to render the scene.. but i couldn't find an extension that would render what i made into an .avi or .mpg format.. what am i doing wrong?? I'm really confused.. and if i didn't describe things clearly its because im a bit confused myself.. :headbang:

here is the tutorial i completed.. and then added onto it.. by having the ball move.."Tutorial I Used"

"How You Like My Nuts to Your Fist Style???"
# 2 17-04-2006 , 08:08 AM
First of all when rendering in maya NEVER render to .avi. Now what you do is in the render globals choose to render out to targa (.tga) and then set the naming convention to "name.#.ext".
Specify wich frame is to be your first (presumably frame 1) and your end frame. Last set framepadding to 4.

When you've done this go under your render tab and choose "batch render". This will make maya render out all of the frames in your animation.

After all of the frames have been rendered use VirtualDub (found at https://www.virtualdub.org/)

In virtualdub choose "open video file" and choose the first frame of your animation. Now you can play or scrub through your animation and see that it looks ok.

To get this into a avi just press ctrl+p and choose your prefered compression type (the best being xvid), press ok and then under file choose "save as avi" and your done. :attn: