Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-04-2006, 05:31 AM   #1
Stack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Snaps not working

Hi all - newbie here
going through some tutorials
While moving the pivot point on a nurbs cube the "v" key has no effect.
Nor does the x key.
The icons in the tool bar have no effect either.
Is it possible to be in a mode that disables these?

any help will be greatly appreciated
__________________
if it's not going it's gone.
Stack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2006, 06:35 AM   #2
Stack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

...but it does work with a polygon cube!
hmmm... is this normal?
__________________
if it's not going it's gone.
Stack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2006, 08:03 AM   #3
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had the same problem but never fixed it. A lot of the times the CV doesn't appear on the orthographic view! Everything works fine in polies though just like you.

Also, snapping to grid is funky with nurbs, it doesn't snap to the line of symetry.

I think it might be a computer issue though. On different computers I used else where, you can't see isopalm selections at all.
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2006, 04:44 PM   #4
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Try double clicking the tool to open its option box and then reset the tool.

Not being able to see things in certain views sounds like a graphics card issue.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.