Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-11-2002, 04:39 AM   #1
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Post Rotate tool is slanted.....

Choose Polygons>Average Vertices Options Box. Click Help>"Help on Averaging Vertices." Scroll down a bit and you'll find a proceedure on how to easily model polygons. It's basically exactly like sub-divs, only it's poly's. Using this technique, I made a simple arch. However, it seems now that my rotate tool has become slanted. I need to rotate some faces on several extrusions, but can't do it if the tool is slanted. Freeze transformations doesn't work on vertices or faces only. It works only on the whole object. If I use this, it works, but the interior cube of the model shrinks for some reason. Is there anything I can do?
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2002, 11:49 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Have you tried using Object move settings instead of World?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:12 AM   #3
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

yup.. a common question that people ask me.... one of the manipulator problems
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:58 AM   #4
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Alright. I think I finally figured out what is wrong. When I began to extrude the top face of the cube, the cube was at a slant. This was because I wanted to make the arch from bottom to top. This is probably why it is slanted. I don't know how to change the setting like you say I can, mtmckinley, but I'll look into it. If you feel like telling me, though, I'd greatly appreciate it. :smile:
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 05:05 AM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

ah, then you want World, instead of Object.

When you extrude a face, you should see a small circle attached to the manipulator. Clicking this will switch between Local and World directions.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.