Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-05-2006, 11:38 PM   #1
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default May/June - Noob - Some Guy

I'm in. I havn't tried too much animation before. Now i gotta think of an idea.
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 11:58 PM   #2
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

OK, i am going to be animating Alyx from Half life 2. Just wondering though, is there any way to get a skinned and jointed model form 3DS Max into Maya.I don't have much expirience with 3DS so it would make it easier to animate if i had it in maya.
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 12:47 AM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

it's possible, but not without some pretty expensive transfer tools. At best, with nothing but the apps native forms, you can transfer the model, but not the rig.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 08:07 AM   #4
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Ok, i got an SMD importer for 3Ds wich gets a rigged HL2 model but i have trouble using 3Ds after doing maya for so long. I am in the process of rigging this in maya.
I also managed to convert the HL2 Textures so it will look better.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 01:37 PM   #5
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

nice idea to use a premade game model some guy
its quite tempting to do the same (with a different model though)
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 09:03 PM   #6
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

should b cool

ps. how do u get the models from the game? do u only need the game CD or is it more complicated

nice idea though
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 12:16 AM   #7
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

U need the cd and you need to be able to de-compile the models using GF Scape (Or something similar). Then you can use the SMD decompilers that come with the SDK and SMD importers to get it into 3DS (There is a way to get it into maya but i havn't figured it out yet).

If you want a more Detailed explination just ask
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 01:19 AM   #8
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

I have decided to use another model (Still form HL2) that will be easier to animate. I found a script that gets the skeleton into maya but then i had to go back and Skin/weight the mesh.
This one is beter because it is wearing bulkier clothing wich means there wont be as much noticable deformation problems.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 11:22 AM   #9
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Here is my first animation test. It is not the final thang

http://media.putfile.com/anim1
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 11:25 AM   #10
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

better ojne

http://media.putfile.com/Anim-2
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 03:19 PM   #11
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Here is a fast walk cycle. I still need to decide what i am actually planning on doing.

http://media.putfile.com/anim-test3
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 04:55 PM   #12
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

nice lookin model to do it with

i like the anim with the box, its good u have made it shake as well which makes it more realistic

some more info would be nice however at the mo do u have to take it into max (bein u dont know how to get it staigh to maya) as i would be a ble to do this

thx and good luck
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 06:49 PM   #13
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

yeah, the box one is great- 'cept that one c+C would be to make him lift his foot a bit more when he steps back.

But it really is good.

But the walk cycle- no offence but I don't like it :p

try looking at this:

http://www.biomotionlab.ca/Demos/BMLwalker.html

Helped me get my walk cycle.

Good luck,
Matt
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 07:07 PM   #14
gohan1842
Subscriber
 
gohan1842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,060
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Agreed about the walk cycle.

The arms don't even shift on time.
__________________
I'm not a geek. I'm a nerd.

msn - g1842@hotmail.com
I'm up for a chat anytime.
gohan1842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 12:48 AM   #15
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

The walk cycle was done in about 10 minites so that is why it is bad. Thanks for the link MAtt
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
PB Man: Firstly, you have to download GFC SCAPE from Here

http://nemesis.thewavelength.net/index.php?p=25

Then you need to find your steam folder and your "STEAM APPS" folder. You then need to open your 'SouceModels.GFC' file. This can't open if you have STEAM running so close it.

This is were it gets kinda tricky.

Find the model that you want to extract and grab all of it's coresponding files, EG if you want to get Barney you should get every file above and below the 'Barny reference' file that has the word Barney in it.

You then extract it to a folder of your choice. Mine is on the desktop. I have included a ZIP with a program called MDL Decompiler. you HAVE to put this in your SDK bin folder.
Like this

C:\Program files\Steam\Steam apps\User Name\souresdk\bin

You can then use this to extract the MDL's to your folder of choice.

I will aslo include the SMD importer for Max. witch yuo put in your scripts folder.
Thats all you need to do. The Models will be skinned and animatable.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hope this help's
Attached Files
File Type: rar mdldecompiler.rar (71.0 KB, 23 views)
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.