Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-05-2006, 09:48 AM   #1
ming
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Thailand
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Why can't Maya exports bsp file??

I wondering why Maya don't have a tool that really support most of game engines...I knew that Maya has Plug-in that can export model to X file... but in real situation the file type that use for a map is bsp or a PK3 and I got advised that I have to use another program to make a map...so I want to find out is their any way that I can still use only Maya to make all these stuff things... If somebody know how to avoid using other modeling program ,please tell me....thanks very much to listening to my question...
ming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2006, 07:40 AM   #2
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Genrally most games have a built in editor or an SDK avaliable to make maps so you don't even have to use maya. If you want to get a model into the game it depends on what game it is.
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2006, 11:39 AM   #3
ming
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Thailand
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for answering.....maybe their wasn't much of chioces for me....I have heard that maya have the extra Plug-in which is licensed by Alias....you gotta buy from the company and it was quite expensive....so if you are not the game company ,it maybe too hard for you to get that.....Fortunatly we still got .X Plug-In....even it can't cover all the subject we want.. but it is better than you havn't got any of it....T-T
ming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2006, 07:09 PM   #4
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

hey i map for jk3 and to get stuff you make from maya in to gtk raidant 14.0 you get a plug - in here... http://www.quakesrc.org/forums/viewt...187e558f70445d


and fyi you have to export it into a .md3 file. thats what the plug-in is. hope this helps.
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2006, 10:13 AM   #5
ming
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Thailand
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks very much. I will try it ^^
ming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2006, 11:29 AM   #6
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

FYI: .pk3 files are zip files (usually no or very little compression) with a different file extension.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2006, 03:25 PM   #7
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

yeah use get winrar to zip it into a .pk3 and chose "zip"
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.