Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-05-2006, 05:13 AM   #1
TaylorHuston
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default GeForce 6150

Hi. I know there has been a lot of posts about this on a lot of the forums but I'm not entirely sure how to fix my problem. I use Maya 7 PLE for school. I just bought a nice computer. X2 4200, 2g of RAM, very sexy. Only problem is that Maya crashes after about 30 seconds. I'm pretty sure this is because I have integrated Nvidia 6150 LE graphics. I have gathered that I somehow need to convert it to a Quadro card in order for Maya to work, but since it is integrated I don't know how to do it. Can it be done and if so is there a website that provides a good straightforward tutorial on hwo to do it? Alot of forum posts say "download RivaTuner and convert your card to a Quaddro" but I can't figure out how to do it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thankx !

Taylor
TaylorHuston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2006, 11:30 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I'm not sure how you would go about that, is the card a intergrated card as in its part of your motherboard? If so i dont think you can do it, you might be able to but i'm not sure as when people I have heard of have soft modded a nvidia 7 series.

You could go to NVidia's website and try and download the latest drivers as this might help?
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2006, 05:31 PM   #3
Ataraxy
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 258
Thanks: 2
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

I dont think you can convert a integrated video into the quadro.. from what I understand you can convert the 6800 to a quadro by soft modding.. I have one and looked into it and never got around to doing it. Also you may want to purchase a new video card since integrated video suck anyhow. sounds like a nice rig, make sure you have a pci-x16 slot before you go card shopping, as I doubt it would have a old AGP slot.

g'luck
Ataraxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2006, 11:32 PM   #4
TaylorHuston
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have every intention of getting a newer video card eventually. I normally I would have built the computre myself with SLI but this rig was $850. Not bag for 2 gigs of ram AND an X2 processor. I just need some way to get it to run Maya until I can afford a better card.
TaylorHuston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2006, 03:27 AM   #5
Ataraxy
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 258
Thanks: 2
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

right on, i understand. check under your bios and see if you can change the amount of memory ur video has double it since you have 2gb of RAM and of course update the drivers..
that's about all else I can think of doing except maybe checking to see if the video is that actual cause of the crashing.. check the log file of maya and see what it says.
Ataraxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2006, 03:32 AM   #6
TaylorHuston
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I found out a way to fix it. After exhaustive forum searching I acutally found the answer on a german Maya forum. I couldn't Google translated the page, but it still didnt make a lot of sense. The only thing I could understand is one guy suggested when you run Maya to open the task manager, right click on Maya.exe, click affinity. I've never been in that menu before. It has a list of boxes from cpu 0 to cpu 24. Only cpu 0 and cpu 1 are selectable the rest are grayed out. Both were checked. If I uncheck one of them it seems to work fine. So anyways I fixed the problem, but I have no idea what it was I did .
TaylorHuston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2006, 03:58 AM   #7
Ataraxy
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 258
Thanks: 2
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

crazy.. mine are checked and working. goona try and see what it does with it off
Ataraxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2006, 04:00 AM   #8
TaylorHuston
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im still curious as to what exaclty I am turning off? I thought since it was two "cpus" and I have a dual core maybe it had something to do with that.
TaylorHuston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 04:38 AM   #9
Ataraxy
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 258
Thanks: 2
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Originally posted by TaylorHuston
I have every intention of getting a newer video card eventually. I normally I would have built the computre myself with SLI but this rig was $850. Not bag for 2 gigs of ram AND an X2 processor. I just need some way to get it to run Maya until I can afford a better card.
rip out the CPU.. RAM and perhaps sound card.. PSU.. the ROM drives and buy another motherboard that supports SLI since you know how to put together a computer.

Edit: sum- just change out the mobo and buy a card and perhaps another one for the SLI you want for a little more money.
Ataraxy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.