Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-06-2006, 04:29 PM   #1
GhosTz
Registered User
 
GhosTz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Question about the control vertex

I'm working on the cartoon dog project, and I'm currently molding the head/jaw.

There's one minor problem though: Some time I grab too many of the "purple dots" (no clue what they're called..) when I'm molding it from the side view.
When I go back into front or perspective view, the dots are scattered all over the place, since I didn't know which dots to grab.

This isn't a huge problem, but I'd rather have models that look exactly the same on both sides.

If my description isn't clear enough, I could take a screen shot of it.
GhosTz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 03:05 AM   #2
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

yeah, posting a screenshot will definitely help us understand your problem, but if I understand you correctly, just select the purple dots (They are called vertices ) and then go into another view and deselect the vertices that you don't want to affect.

You could also try duplicating an instance of your model (just look under the duplicate options box) which will allow you to work on half of the model and the other half will update automatically.

Hope this helps.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 03:42 AM   #3
GhosTz
Registered User
 
GhosTz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default


That's what I mean.

The points aren't even, so each side will be a bit different :/
GhosTz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 04:36 AM   #4
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Yeah, it just looks like you haven't selected the correct vertices before modelling them - you just need to make sure that before moving the vertices you check out your model from all angles to make sure that what you have selected is what you want. Don't just model in one view.

As I said, have a look at modelling with an instance, though i haven't done that tutorial, so he might not use that method.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 05:42 AM   #5
GhosTz
Registered User
 
GhosTz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So how would I edit only half of it, and duplicate it later?

That seems the easiest to me.
GhosTz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 12:31 PM   #6
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

First you need to make sure that your pivot point is at the center. If not, just press ctrl G to group your object to itself. Then delete half of your model and go to edit>duplicate>options box. Next, put a minus sign next to the appropriate X Y Z column in the scale section (This all depends on what plane you are trying to duplicate across). Finally, decide whather you want to make a regular duplicate, or an instance, which will allow you to work on one half and the other side will update at the same time.

I think that's right but I am still at work on a night shift and so not at my computer or completely with it.:zzz:
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 11:05 PM   #7
GhosTz
Registered User
 
GhosTz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ohh okay.

Thanks alot.
GhosTz is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.