Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-07-2006, 11:19 AM   #1
relikz
Registered User
 
relikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default games made in maya?

hey guys i was just wonderin', what games were made in maya?
__________________
~The Computer Is A Moron~
relikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 11:45 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I'm not big into games or the industry, but, I know that 24 the game was (it said it in the credits of the instructions LOL)
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 11:50 AM   #3
relikz
Registered User
 
relikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol really? thx

anymore of you who knows?

the only one i know is Kingdom Hearts... autodesk said maya was used at some point in it..
:attn:
__________________
~The Computer Is A Moron~
relikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 12:47 PM   #4
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

There are a lot of games now using Maya. Mike TheManMountain is still in the industry (I think) so he would probably be the best one to answer this. But its unlikely anyone can give a list.

Maya is still predominantly used for TV/Film ATM, but is stating to make a bigger hit on the Games market. Most companies will accept Maya or Max for creating game assets. UT2004, UT2007, Call of Duty 1 and 2 and WoW to name a few, would have had stuff created in Maya. No game is made solely with one application, companies use a massive amount of software and it all comes down to, "...Can it meet the projects needs?..." and "...What will it cost to impliment?..." as far as I am aware.

From what I have read in magazines and online, more studios are accepting Maya as the app to use while utilising others for different parts. Motion Builder is used quite heavily for AVI cutscenes or movie sequnces in game.

I am using Maya atm, in the MMO in my sig, to create Characters, Buildings and Objects, and this has its own problems due to the choice to use the Torque Game Engine. While its good and cheap, really doesn't allow the import or use or other 3D Formats and only supports .map files and its own native engine formats (DIF, DTS and DSQ). There are exporters to help, but most actually dont, so we are looking into other otpions to get the conversions done... And due to the fact its really designed and marketed for Indie Teams its meant to be used with Hammer or Radiant or QuArK, these being free.

My tip would be to look in Google at the major games producers and see what they have created and look into it that way. I think you will be surprised at the amount of games that use Maya now.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 01:52 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

"50% of Northern games companies use maya"


Quoted off the back of "Maya 6 - Killer Tips" so that might give an indication of the number of games??
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 02:00 PM   #6
relikz
Registered User
 
relikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by gster123
"50% of Northern games companies use maya"


Quoted off the back of "Maya 6 - Killer Tips" so that might give an indication of the number of games??
lol ye
__________________
~The Computer Is A Moron~
relikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 02:11 PM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Should have really put Northern American LOL!!!
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 03:42 PM   #8
relikz
Registered User
 
relikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

:attn:
__________________
~The Computer Is A Moron~
relikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 06:49 PM   #9
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Tomb Raider, EA sports games for the most part, Halo, Metroid, Sly Cooper, just to name a few.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 07:38 PM   #10
arneoog
Registered User
 
arneoog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I know that Nintendo uses Maya for must of their games :attn:

Cheers, Nintendo Fan
__________________
Arne OOG - Makin' stuff
>>elqx Studios<<
arneoog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 08:58 PM   #11
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

LucasArts Create all their stuff in Maya, in fact Maya is becoming increasingly popular at most game studios, having looked thru the jobs most of the studios are using Maya, Max and Z brush

_J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2006, 01:33 AM   #12
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Wait, thats..odd.... I heard from someone that maya , since Autodesk bought alias out, was becoming increasingly less popular in the industry, with people moving to such as Modo or XSI...I'm hoping thats wrong, to be honest..
LoL
G
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2006, 02:49 AM   #13
relikz
Registered User
 
relikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@mike and jay

wow thanks guys, didn't know maya was used to create those big-hit games... all the while i was thinking it was in 3ds max :attn:


@legendofzombi
lol same
__________________
~The Computer Is A Moron~
relikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2006, 08:17 AM   #14
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

G

Every job sheet listing I have has Maya, Max and Z on it and thats from different 'agencies' all over the world. Modo is SD based and not game savvy right at this moment, unless its used for the highend animatics, but I doubt it for the realtime stuff as SDs are way too heavy. XSI again is used here and there but again, the rumour youve heard for Maya, Ive heard for XSI on many project, its just not being used. A friend of mine is a full time animator here in London and his company use XSI and Maya but earlier this year they booted out XSI in favour of Maya.

I think somebody has an Autodesk grudge...LOL

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2006, 10:34 AM   #15
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

As Jay said, Maya is increasing in use in the Games Industry. The only Game I know of that used XSI fully, was Half Life 2. Otherwise its just used here and there, as Maya is currently. Also Maya is mostly used for its animations tools and dynamics. Most Models/Assets are still generally created in Max. But as I said earlier, choice of applications are made by Art Directors and "Heads of Sheds" at the birth of a project.

There were a lot of rumours about what would happen to Maya when Autodesk bought Alias, but as most rumours are, it was all bull. Would you want to be the head of a company to be blaimed for the demise of the King of 3D Apps? Not Me...
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.