Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-07-2006, 10:15 PM   #1
Mayastatic
Subscriber
 
Mayastatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Make a hole

I have a surface, and want make a hole in it, with the shape of a cylinder. I know the make hole tool, but the result don´t fit the surface. how can i do that?
Mayastatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2006, 10:36 PM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

what do you mean when you say the result doesn't fit the surface?

if it just doesn't look right on your display, one thing you have to remember is that the tesselation of nurbs in a viewport doesn't necessarily reflect the actual geometry... try rendering it to see if it did what you wanted it to, and if you don't like looking at a messed up version you can always open the atribute editor for the item in question and check the 'display render tesselation' button under the tesselation options tab.

at the same time, if you didn't get the result you were hoping for at all, you can try creating a nurbs circle of the size you want the hole to be. select the circle and then the object you want the hole in, and choose 'project curve onto surface'. after that, just do a trim.

maybe a screenshot might help us give you a more accurate solution to your problem *shrug*
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 09:06 AM   #3
Mayastatic
Subscriber
 
Mayastatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank you!
when you can explain how i use the trim tool i´m very glad.
I com from germany, and i speak the school english. I think that is the reason why i do not understand what the program want´s from me. sorry for that very bad news! I learn maya since four months and make the greatest things for that time.I think so, but the easiest things i can´t do.
Mayastatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 07:07 PM   #4
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

if you are still looking for how to make a trim on an object, you should be able to find a few good examples in maya's help file, but here's a quickie. after projecting your curve onto your surface, choose the trim tool, and click on the object you want to trim. it'll turn the object white and where you can trim you'll see a thick white border. click on the part you want to keep, and hit enter.

if there's more to it than that i can't remember... i'm at work without access to maya.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 11:29 AM   #5
Mayastatic
Subscriber
 
Mayastatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank you for teaching. in the future you can be proud of my scenes and you can say, that you was the guy who teached me!
Mayastatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 02:03 PM   #6
Mayastatic
Subscriber
 
Mayastatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It was that what you have sad. After rendering the hole is really round and not with edges as in the pers view.
thanks!
Mayastatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 05:47 PM   #7
severinianthony
Registered User
 
severinianthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here's something else you can try, Mayastatic...keep in mind, this is just a basic idea; you can exploit it and manipulate it however you see fit ^.^

1) create a simple cube, scale it up by about 5 in all directions.

2) translate it down in Y so that its uppermost face is BELOW the grid origin.

3) in the top view, use the custom polygon tool to create some random shape...it doesn't matter what, but make sure it "fits" the size of the cube face.

4) select the polygon face and the cube and combine them

5) change your select-by-type to faces, and select the poly FIRST and the cube's face SECOND

6) Edit Polygons -> Make Hole

You'll notice that it has multiple operations...fiddle around with them, it'll be pretty obvious as to what each one does.

Happy hole-making ^.^
__________________
severinianthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 10:37 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.