Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-07-2006, 07:31 PM   #1
SpaceGoat
Registered User
 
SpaceGoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Transparency maps

Sorry for the simplistic question but when im applying a tree texture to a plane, and then adding the alpha map in the transparency channel and then turn on cast shadows, there is an outline shadow of the plane. How come?
SpaceGoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 10:28 AM   #2
astrocalder
Registered User
 
astrocalder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

to your eye only the tree exists on that layer, but to maya it sees the whole rectangular shape. the lights can't tell the difference, so it'll be a square shadow. i think you need to cut the tree out to get a shadow.

i could be wrong, if so i'd like to know how to do that too.
astrocalder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 10:47 AM   #3
SpaceGoat
Registered User
 
SpaceGoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When i was using LightWave i found that clip maps were the answer but dont know if there might be something like that in Maya. Surely there would be as I've got the Total Textures cd's and they encourage the use of having plants applied onto planes.
SpaceGoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 06:25 PM   #4
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

hey check this tutorial out... this should be what you need...

http://www.3dtreat.com/pages/tutoria.../solution.html
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 07:16 PM   #5
SpaceGoat
Registered User
 
SpaceGoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you so much. He mentions that it should be fixed in later versions and I'm using 7 so are there any other suggestions? plus it seems to make the colour a bit too bright

cheers
SpaceGoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 09:33 PM   #6
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

What file format are you using?
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 12:31 AM   #7
SpaceGoat
Registered User
 
SpaceGoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was using a JPEG but i think the same applied for TIFF
SpaceGoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 08:10 AM   #8
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

JPEGs do not support Transparancies, suggest a png or PSD File
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 02:46 PM   #9
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

at the same time that jpg files don't support transparency, you can still use them and achieve transparency in a material by creating a black and white silhouette of your original jpeg and attaching it to the transparency of your material.

as far as it appearing too bright, under the file texture attribute editor you can decrease the color gain levels in your color balance tab.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 09:09 PM   #10
SpaceGoat
Registered User
 
SpaceGoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes what I had done was create a alpha map and also used the transparency values already present in a TIFF image.

For those interested I have found the best solution which is funny how it doesnt seem to be mentioned in a lot of places. What you have to do is reduce the 'shadow attenuation' to 0 in the objects raytrace properties.
SpaceGoat is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.