Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-08-2006, 02:32 AM   #1
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default GRAPHICS CARD?

Can anyone recommend what graphics card is good for using for rendering? I keep getting 'graphics card not sufficient for hardware rendering'

Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Also, while we r on the subject, can anyone give me feedback of what memory and hard drive is enough to use for shorts.

Thanks
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 02:37 AM   #2
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

mine says that too, but its a compattibility with maya issue. my graphics card is GREAT... but it doesnt tie in with MAya well.

and i'd give about a gig of ram, hard drive... anything that can hold maya lol whatever even 10 gigs is enough (dont buy 10 gigs of hard... go for at least 80-160)
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 03:09 AM   #3
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

wicked thanx mate

I have just got my pc upgraded to a gig of ram so at least i know im on the right track. as for the hard drive im waiting for my local shop to get back to me, he's getting me 500gb hard drive for Ģ220.

However, someone told me that if im gonna concentrate on spending on any upgrades, it should be for my RAM...is this true?? However he is not an animator, just fairly clever with pc's.


Before i do anything else though, in order to get good images (and lets face it, if im spending, i may aswell get THE best that my wallet will let me),.........i need to do my research on graphics cards and get myself a top powerful graphic card. Mine at the moment is a RADEON 9200 SE. Unfortunately im not too clever on graphics cards yet. Dunno what power mine is....like i said, ill have to do my research.lol

?????????


APPRECIATE YOUR HELP MY FRIEND

CHEERS
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 07:09 AM   #4
Redmer
Subscriber
 
Redmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Holland
Posts: 139
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i think if you would like to go for an new graphics card
i would upgrade youre whole PC
inlcuding processor and mainboard
wait for when the intel conroe are good available that are fantastic processor and find an mainboard that is SLI compatible
buy either 2 nvidia 7950 in sli or a single quadro.
__________________
------------------- WIP ------------------


--------------- Finished Work -------------
Apache Helicopter
Armoured Personal Unit
Apache Finished
Ferrari 360
Mech
Redmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 07:54 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

If you only want it for maya then have a look at the qualification charts on alias's site, but you can get a card that isn't qualified but will work, eg the GForces (On my PC I've got an old school 4400 but it works fine hardware rendering)

But I would ask for opinions on the one your thinking of as there may be problems with it when running maya
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 12:15 PM   #6
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

you dont have to go all out and buy a new comp just for a graphics card and a stick of ram.

upgrades- yeah you should go for ram, but depends on what you are going to do! If you want to do a lot of rendering of complex scenes, stuff that, i dont know, takes 3 hours or more a frame, you should upgrade your processor too. But still, if you upgrade, go for the ram. You should have one, if not even 2 gigs of ram for stuff like maya.

And graphics card, i'd go for the NVIDIA Quadro FX series, though most of them have prices that go through the roof, for graphics, they are great.
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 01:39 PM   #7
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I was using an "off the shelf" Dell which I initially bought with Maya (or at least Flash or other 2D animation) in mind. It worked OK with earlier versions of Maya, but 6.5 made the ol' warhorse crash and burn! Earlier this year, I was compelled to retire the old warhorse (actually, it's still in use) and I decided to build a new PC from the ground up.

The first order of business is a motherboard which can hold a LOT of RAM and the latest processors. I chose one by Gigabyte Technologies which holds up to 8 GB of RAM ( I presently have 2 GB, all I could afford! :-) ). I used an upper mid level Intel 3.2 GB processor, and chose an ATI DirectX 9 compatible video card (which, BTW works great).

I had some "fun" building it (I bought all the components from newegg.com); some of the items didn't work right the first time out, one motherboard was dead in the water when I got it (quickly replaced), and I was advised to buy the wrong kind of RAM (choosing compatible RAM chips is a black art, but eventually I got it right). Finally, it worked!!!!!!!!

My only (and by far BIGGEST) mistake was choosing Windows XP 64 Professional as my operating software. As I learned, it was virtually obsolete upon release, and while it works GREAT with Maya (very stable), it is virtually UNSUPPORTED by just about everyone else! I had to unretire my old Dell to do all of my scanning and printing. BE ADVISED...NEITHER Symantec nor McAfee support 64 bit windows! I lucked out and found a small UK company called "Avast" which to my knowledge makes the only anti-virus software compatible with Windows 64. I have found that software easily the equal and in many ways the superior of Norton and McAfee! When the new Windows software comes out, I may wind up getting it.

If nothing else, upgrade your motherboard and get more RAM! Otherwise, I found building a new PC an interesting challenge, and you can buy as much or as little as you need!
__________________
"Ad astra per aspera..."
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 02:34 PM   #8
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

this is very interesting. thanx peeps! keep the comments coming. Its very good to know when you're starting out what you need etc.

I appreciate every comment, cheers

im only creating shorts, like most people. I want to get into to the industry as an animator, not to produce stills, but short films, hence why i want advice on rendering and memory etc.etc.

keep em coming!


__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 01:11 AM   #9
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

for my next PC I will look for 2 things - as much RAM as possible (...whcih might still be 2 GIG) and a powerful CPU. for the graphics card thing - I used to work with an old ATI, and well it somehow survived maya. got me a nVidia 6800GT some weeks/months? after it came out. never had problems with it. at my old office we had a quadro FX 4500 - a very not cheap graca! in my current company, I donīt know whatīs in..

and I tell you what. graphic cards really donīt matter in my opinion as long as you can plug 2 monitors into it.. no matter where I worked and with what high end components, my 1,5 year old homemade comp with 2 Gigs Ram, 6800GT and amd 3200+ is still as fast as the company stuff.

cause all that matters is CPU and RAM. and as long as apps are limited to 2 Gigs of RAM it wont get any noticably better (donīt speaking about CPU here), not to say that I can still buy my own processor Unit at the nearly same price from 2 years ago. I donīt want to sound pessimistic, just say - get you a small and real fast harddisc and use the first partition as pagefile - in case you use windows..
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.

Last edited by Falott : 06-08-2006 at 01:14 AM.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŪ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.