Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-11-2002, 07:49 AM   #1
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem putting Phong on Subdiv model.

Hi guys,

Need help and I couldn't find it in the book to answer this. You can see from the pics what I mean.

The model is made from subdivision from polygons. It seems like everytime I use a phong to put a shiny texture on it to the model, the right side where I model will look all f...up as if the whole thing collapsed, while the left side (instance of the right) looks fine.

I use a phong because my model's skin was pretty shiny when I shot him so I figure by putting some shine would help in getting more detail for my modeling him.

Please tell me why this is happening and how to fix this.

Anyone have any luck in trying the pinkskin shader from highend3d.com? I look so horrible when I assigned it to my 3D model, pink and huge freckles.

Thanks,
JL
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2002, 02:24 PM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

It looks like you have the poly proxy mode shaded as well as the sub-d surface on the right side. Try selecting the right side of the model and under sub-d menu (select normal mode). That should do it I think, let me know if that didn't work.


Kurt
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2002, 02:51 AM   #3
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Kurt,

Is this what you mean? I went to Display -> Subdivision Surface Components -> Normals.

I selected the right side (the side where I do the modeling...) and went to display the normals...that is waht it look like. Did the same with the left side (instance of the right), it looks fine...

So what am I doing wrong?

Thanks,
JL
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2002, 03:40 AM   #4
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

My bad!!! I said (normal mode) when I thinking (Standard mode). I attached a pic to show you what to select. That should do it... if not upload the file if its small enough and I'll take a look for yeah.

Kurt
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2002, 04:14 PM   #5
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It works!!! Thanks Kurt!
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2002, 02:21 AM   #6
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

quick tip.... you can right click the object and select standard.
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2002, 01:55 PM   #7
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah I know. But happy thanksgiving though.
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.