Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-08-2006, 11:35 AM   #1
Win3D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Duplicating models help!

hi, i started a human model and here i am:

i need to duplicate the leg and the arm at a 180 degree how to do, i tried to do ctrl+d and then rotate it but dont work for the leg, i know im a newbie at maya so please keep it simple with me


thanx for help

also( how to export my owrk from maya to Zbrush2 for a better model tweaking.

Last edited by Win3D : 14-08-2006 at 11:37 AM.
Win3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2006, 12:29 PM   #2
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

it´s very simple. you can´t just rotate, you need to mirror the leg. mirroring means scaling the leg around the axis it is pointing along. if Z is your front axis and X is the side-axis you have to duplicate with scale with -1 0 0.

make sure you have a clean mesh in the end. after flipping the geometry you perform a freeze transformation. be aware taht this flips the normals to the inside, so perofrm a flip normals operation afterwards. combine and delete history. also have a look into the hypergraph and delete all blind nodes. then export in OBJ format.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2006, 01:41 PM   #3
Win3D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how to export in obj format ?
i clicked on Export ALL then from the window it was the folowing extentions: .ma .mb .mov mentalray. .fbx
Win3D is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.