Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-08-2006, 04:27 PM   #1
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Rotate but not scale

I've a problem with my rotate.

I've applied a image to a polygon plane flat on the ground (i.e top view).
When I rotate the plane so that it faces me (i.e. front view), the plane becomes shorter!

How can I solve this?

Thanks in advance!
parka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2006, 04:32 PM   #2
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

More information:

That happens when I create the default plane with 10 by 10 intersections and deleting a few intersections/faces off.

I've got a workaround but why does Maya behave in this way?
parka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2006, 10:13 PM   #3
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well if you're deleting faces off of the plane, isn't that what's causing your plane to become shorter?
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2006, 02:09 AM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It's probably in a group or parented to something. Remove it from the grouping relationship and it should be fine.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 11:27 PM   #5
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mtmckinley
It's probably in a group or parented to something. Remove it from the grouping relationship and it should be fine.
Thanks.
It worked!
parka is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.