Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-09-2006, 05:44 AM   #1
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Viewing normal maps?

I have applied my normal map, yet the model now appears very poorly lit, is this common? how do I get it so that it appears normally in the view port, as I'm having to keep rendering my scene to see the minor details which surely isnt the quick way of doing this. see below how it appears in the viewport
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 06:30 AM   #2
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Anyone?
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 06:32 AM   #3
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

try using the heightField_node from general utilities in the hypershade. I don´t know if it works for complex geometry like a head too but you might try. or if your card supports high quality rendering this could also be an option.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 06:42 AM   #4
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

cheers Fallott, I already have high quality rendering turned on Ill give that a go, I've also been recomended the jsnormal mapping shader though i can't make head not tail of it, ever heard or used of it?
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 08:31 AM   #5
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

no, sorry. I usually model a piece of geo, do the displacement in zBrush and give it right away.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.

Last edited by Falott : 03-09-2006 at 08:58 AM.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.