Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-09-2006, 12:51 AM   #1
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Rendering in odd resolutions

Greetings, all!

A question...How can one render a frame in a resolution such as, for example, 1920 X 480 (three times as wide as it is high) without the image being squashed?

I tried setting that resolution into render globals and using a resolution gate, but that doesn't seem to work. I am about to try rendering the pictures at 1920 X 1440 (three times the size of 640 X 480) and "clipping" the whole thing down in After Effects, but I wonder of there's something I am missing?

Any ideas? Thanks kindly in advance! :-)
__________________
"Ad astra per aspera..."
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 10:44 AM   #2
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i dont see y it should look squashed

did u mean after u pt it in AF or wen u loonk at it in Fcheck?
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 04:22 PM   #3
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Both, actually! I tried inchecking "Maintain height to width ratio" in render globals, but no change. It still renders a squashed sphere!

My guess is that resolution has something to do with the camera, but I'm a clueless git when it comes to the finer points of a camera!

I tried the resolution gate again and a nice box appears right where I want it to, but rendering the frame STILL yields a squashed sphere.

I hope I gave you enough info to help, pb! I appreciate your reply!
__________________
"Ad astra per aspera..."
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 08:50 AM   #4
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hace u scaled the camera in a way that the scale in y is disproportionate to the rest?

i dont know if this effects it but it may

have u tried using a new camera
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 08:52 AM   #5
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

make sure your device aspect ratio is correct... after you change your values it should automatically change it from 1.333 to 4.000, but if it's not then you still have it trying to maintain some kind of ratio somewhere.

when i rendered a 1920X480 i didn't get a squashed sphere with that value (of 4), but changing it back to the default setting of 1.333 as the device aspect ratio gave me the squashed sphere.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 12:40 PM   #6
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks, PB & NeoStrider!

NeoStrider, your suggestion worked. I changed the device aspect ratio in RG and Lo! no flat planet! :-)

Regards!
__________________
"Ad astra per aspera..."
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 02:09 AM   #7
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

sweeeeeeeeet.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.