Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-09-2006, 03:58 AM   #1
foto-z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Estonia
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Blue screen when I try to render large file

I've finished a scene in Maya 8 and rendered it at 600x400 until now.

Now I need it rendered at 4500x3000 but every time I try my machine bluescreens. Any idea what might cause this? My machine is not very high-spec but I have over 3GB hard disk free and my PC has 1GB RAM.

If someone out there would like to render this one frame at production quality, that would be much appreciated.
foto-z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 06:41 AM   #2
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Graphics Card Specs...

I bet theres a buffering issue and you have filled the cards RAM and therefore killed it and its crashed windows.

Can you see the BSOD? What message are you getting of the BSOD?
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 07:03 AM   #3
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm. I don't think it has anything to do with the video card's memory. If the video card is out of it, it should put the rest of the data in the hard drive.

BSoDs happen when Windows stuffs up on the memory management. It must be something to do with virtual memory or something, as foto-z's machine only has around 3 GB of free space.

But then every case is different and any error messages and logs would be useful.
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 07:25 AM   #4
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well this question might be a little insulting, but are you leaving the computer the hell alone while it's rendering something that large, or are you playing video games and checking email and surfing online and downloading porn and all that other stuff at the same time?

a lot of people can't understand why their computer chugs (and eventually crashes) while they render, but then they don't want to wait for it and go use it for something else at the same time...

hell i'll admit i'm guilty of it all the time, but then again i'm usually rendering in 320X240 or 640X480... something small to give me an idea but not kill my computer...
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 07:35 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I dont think its to do with the graphics card (unless you are hardware rendering??)

It might be that you have insufficent disk space (as the 3 GB HDD and the 1 GB RAM might not be enough if its a large scene with lots of lights/textures etc)
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 11:20 AM   #6
foto-z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Estonia
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the replies. I switched to another laptop (different design, with only 768 MB RAM) and it works.

I'm feeling reasonable positive that the video driver/card in my machine is somehow to blame. Perhaps it is a buffer overflow, as someone suggested.
foto-z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 12:11 PM   #7
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I do say its a card issue, more than likely drivers based...

Also I would chk ur Pagefile.sys. Keep it to 1.5 times the amount of ram you have and dont allow it to be dynamic. set the limits to the same size, when Windows fills the page file and theres nowhere else to go then it tends to Blue Screen.

Not MS's fault, its just the nature of Windows and badly designed 3rd party drivers and apps.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.