Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-09-2006, 10:50 PM   #1
ub52
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Model bloat?

I'm a total Maya newb. So, to learn, I've been working through the Ferrari tutorial. I've noticed that as I convert to sub-d and then back to polys as in the tut, the size of the scene file explodes to 20-30MB. Is this normal in Maya, and is there a way to reduce the size.

Thanks,
ub52
ub52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2006, 05:43 AM   #2
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

before u convert back click the option box

chose vertices an it should be fine

this will convert ur model an keep low polys

adaptive will convert but with high poly count thus making ur file huge(udont want this usally)
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2006, 08:53 AM   #3
ub52
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is counter to what the tutorial seems to outline. Selecting vertices in the options appears to convert the sub-d's back to the original mesh density, unsuitable for rendering.

Am I to understand by this that in general, car models with enough detail for final rendering in Maya will always be in the 20-50MB range. That seems a bit excessive. My experiences with other apps (eg. LW and Modo) seem much more efficient. I'm not knocking Maya, I'm just trying to understand, If I'm missing something I seriously want to know.

Thanks,
ub52
ub52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2006, 08:55 AM   #4
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ah i didnt realise u wen trying to keep the creases

this is the porblem with doing it this ways u will end up with a large file size as the poly count will be sky high
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.