Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-09-2006, 04:59 AM   #1
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Render layers

OK, you know how with render layers you can assign a material override to the whole layer, or just to an individuaobject? Well how do you remove an override from an object? I looked in the docs, but can find nothing? I tried deleting some links from the hypergraph, but that wreaked havoc.

Anyone?

Thanks.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2006, 11:43 AM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well if you're trying to do it for an individual object, i'm not sure, but you can right click on the render layer itself and the option 'remove material override' will be there...

but i'm pretty sure it's for the whole layer
__________________
Accept no substitutions.

Last edited by NeoStrider : 29-09-2006 at 12:53 PM.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2006, 11:18 PM   #3
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Thanks Neo, but that is for removing shader overrides that are applied to the whole layer and didn't have any effect on my objects. Thanks for trying though.

Anyone else?
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2006, 03:57 AM   #4
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

while trying to solve the problem at hand, i couldn't help but wonder... how did you actually override the materials on the object level to begin with?
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2006, 04:02 AM   #5
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

If you assign a shader to an object while you're in a render layer, it assigned it only for that layer.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.