Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-10-2006, 11:39 AM   #1
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Scaling in the wrong axis

Hi. Strange problem here.

I've my polygon on one side of the thick black line (the Z-axis) on the grid. The pivot is on the black line.

When I duplicate it, and change the X-scale to -1, the polygon rotates as if I have typed in -1 to the Z-axis.

Any idea what's wrong?
parka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 12:21 PM   #2
gaganjain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: India
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Make sure u have select object not faces can give sreenshot too that will help us know moe about problem
__________________
"The secret of creativity is knowing how to hide your sources."
Albert Einstein.
gaganjain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 01:22 PM   #3
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I've posted a screen shot.
I'm modelling a car. The right is the original polygon. X axis is left, Y is top and Z axis is front.

When I duplicate the car I have the resulting polygon as shown on the left. (I've moved it to the left so that they are not on top of one another). As such, I can't get a whole car.
Attached Thumbnails
 
parka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 02:27 PM   #4
gaganjain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: India
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

First select base model and and do Freeze transformations it in modify menu and select base againtthis do center pivot model and now press insert key on keyboard hold down x button to span to grid move point to center scene where drak black line intersect his will help u
__________________
"The secret of creativity is knowing how to hide your sources."
Albert Einstein.
gaganjain is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.