Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-10-2006, 09:47 PM   #1
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default backface culling

I have been building this model but discoered that I can only see the faces from 1 side. I believe this problem has something to do with backface culling but seem to be unable to fix it. I will upload some pics showing the problem and also to show how my options are set up for my polygon display. If anyone can help me resolve this matter it would be much appreciated.

cheers leon
Attached Thumbnails
 
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2006, 09:49 PM   #2
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

invisible faces
Attached Thumbnails
 
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2006, 09:50 PM   #3
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

my options
Attached Thumbnails
 
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 12:29 AM   #4
cris007
Registered User
 
cris007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 192
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Try display -> Component Display -> Backfaces. Maybe they were accidentally turned off. Hope it works.
cris007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 01:44 AM   #5
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Thanks for the assist cris007 but I have found the problem basically I had been modelling with the create meshes single sided checked. I have now fixed it

cheers Leon

Last edited by leonlabyk : 07-10-2006 at 01:58 AM.
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 08:51 AM   #6
cris007
Registered User
 
cris007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 192
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Happy you solved it. These sort of problems can really be annoying.
cris007 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.