Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-10-2006, 04:21 PM   #1
mesgna
Registered User
 
mesgna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How are 2d cartoons made in maya

please excuse my noob question but ive been reading around alot about animes and cartoons in general and most of them say they use maya to compose the hole thing but since maya is a 3d application how do that actually use it for 2d excuse my noob question
__________________
-Dosn't have a discent one fo this site-
mesgna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2006, 12:22 AM   #2
dockode
Registered User
 
dockode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Do you have an example of what a particular cartoon or anime show that states this? Not doubting just curious, I'm not really into the whole anime thing.
__________________
...and that is how I saved the world.
dockode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2006, 01:06 AM   #3
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How they make a cartoon in Maya is not too special.

They model and animate the characters and the scene in Maya and then render it (often with thier own custom renderer) so it takes on a 2D or cartoon style.

Some cartoons only have the background done in Maya while some only have the characters (rarer), and then mix it with drawn content to get the final result.

As for dockode's question, I know that some bits of Futurama is done in 3D, but I have no idea wether it is done in Maya.
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2006, 10:01 AM   #4
dockode
Registered User
 
dockode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh yeah, I remember that. The credits mention 3D work for futurama. You can tell too. Most frequently the space scenes and the lab.
__________________
...and that is how I saved the world.
dockode is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.