Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-11-2006, 08:50 AM   #1
savage23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default why arent my loops connecting?

well i am trying to make a shirt and everytime i use my cv curve tool i get the error curves must form a closed loop...why does that happen? and how can i fix this?
savage23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2006, 08:57 PM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

try selecting your curve after you're done making it and (from the modeling set) choose edit curves--> open/close curves.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2006, 09:49 AM   #3
savage23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well i did just what you told me to but it still says it the same thing...how do i check for unconected extra curves?

and can anyone tell me how to do this their way from the start because i think i might just be doing it horribly wrong even tho ive followed the steps for the tutorials and the one in the help section in maya :headbang:
savage23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2006, 10:40 PM   #4
Xander-0
Registered User
 
Xander-0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: This Place
Posts: 220
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

you don't need to have the curves be one piece like that. What it really means is that all the ends of all the individual curves meet. (well, they have to be planar too, but that's easier to account for). The best way to do this is to slide the first cv of the next piece along the curve during creation. - hold 'c', and it'l 'ride' the curve, and 'stick' at the end (a little). I never have any problems.
__________________
Book Wise

http://X4nd5r.deviantart.com
Xander-0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2006, 01:30 AM   #5
savage23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well. so far im doing what i think is exactly what people tell me they do, but it still says the same thing...is there certain settings im supposed to change somewhere to do this right

i actually think its me being stupid but if you can please tell me of the way you do it from the begining because i dont know what else to do :angery: , i made a garment once doing the same thing ive been doing but i think i did something and now i cant get it to stop giving me that loop error.
savage23 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.