Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-11-2006, 11:05 AM   #1
tube86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to Animate a Camera?

pls help me how can i animate a camera?? how can i move it to what i want to view my object in like a holywood movies?? i hope you can help me
tube86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2006, 02:28 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Just move it and set keyframes
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2006, 08:41 PM   #3
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

And make sure its selected.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2006, 06:23 AM   #4
erictacti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, they're right. But, if you're still having issues, try this.

First, create a camera (Create-> Camera), and name it whatever you'd like. Then, in the 4 pane view, select one of the panels you probably won't use and click on Panels-> Perspective-> and select the camera you made. That way, you can control the camera directly, and view whatever you want. After that, you just have to do what was mentioned earlier, select the camera and keyframe it.

Also, in the other panels, you may want to show cameras so you can easily find and select your cam.

Click Show, and make sure Cameras is checked.

Good luck!
__________________
Eric Tacti
3D Artist
erictacti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2006, 03:39 PM   #5
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i love animating cameras! But dont be too camera happy.be warned!

Its too easy to think yor steven spielberg and focus more on the cameras than the animation its itself.

One thing i was looking for, for a long time was how to animate camera cuts. Heres how if you dont know yet:

1) Create Camera and key frame it.

2) Move it, and key frame it again.

3) Now in the timeline, shift select the 2 'ticks'

4) Right click the now red area of the timeline, and go Tangeants > Stepped

Now click play and enjoy. Remember to be as realistic as poss.
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2006, 07:17 PM   #6
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

one problem with animating camera cuts reverts back to 'thinking like a filmmaker' like you were talking about...

when you think about camera cuts, you want to keep the motion similar, which is called 'cutting to continuity'.

basically, a handy tip to keep in mind is that when you're cutting from further away (from the action) to closer up, you want to shave off a few frames (only like 3-4, unless you're animating at 15fps, then 2-3)of the animation. if you're changing camera angle from closer up to farther away, you want to repeat a few frames from the new angle. in order to do these kinds of things, you'll want to render out two times from different cameras (for the few-frame overlap) to ensure you get enough coverage... so keying camera cuts isn't always a great idea.

one extra tip to keep in mind is DO NOT move your camera too much. just because you can rotate it and dolly in/out and pan around freely with your camera doesn't mean you should. it might look cool to you, but it's more than likely only distracting to your audience. think about your subject. are you revealing something about it? is it going somewhere you can't see in frame? if so, then moving the camera MIGHT be ok... but not always necessarily so.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2006, 08:25 PM   #7
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

yeah gd point neo about cuts, didnt think of the frames. Im not an expert, so i didnt think of that.

Thnax

:bow:
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2015, 01:33 AM   #8
arkmnpszy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Question

Hello!
I am trying to create a camera that follows a character. Also, I created certain controls to rotate the camera, and move back and forth. I tried to make certain buttons to set the camera in certain positions, like a "conversation position" or a "fight position".
Unfortunately, the camera is not what I want.
Can somebody help me to create a camera that...
Follows the character (like "always aiming the back of the character")
Restores its position
Rotates around the character´s waist
Zooms in and zooms out of the character
Gets an aim when the character uses a fire weapon
Shows the character health
Gets a "pause screen" whenever it is necessary
Shows texts in the lowest side of the screen?
I am asking this because I wanna create videos, so I can create a video game.
Thanks.
arkmnpszy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2015, 02:03 PM   #9
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

This sort of functionality doesn't seem to be best implemented in Maya with camera controls. If you want overlays and that sort of thing for a video, you would want to composite those after, like in After Effects. If you want to create a video game, then you should look into something like Unity for making video games. The assets can be created in Maya, but it's not totally clear what your objective here is.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 07:26 AM   #10
arkmnpszy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks

Originally Posted by stwert View Post
This sort of functionality doesn't seem to be best implemented in Maya with camera controls. If you want overlays and that sort of thing for a video, you would want to composite those after, like in After Effects. If you want to create a video game, then you should look into something like Unity for making video games. The assets can be created in Maya, but it's not totally clear what your objective here is.
Thank you.
All I needed was to create some joints. That way I can parent the camera, and no matter where the joint that moves the camera goes: the pivot will always stay where I want.
arkmnpszy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2015, 06:50 AM   #11
arkmnpszy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello again.
Now that I am trying to texture my objects in MAYA, can you tell me what is the best way?
Do I have to export my files to photoshop, or to autodesk mud box?
arkmnpszy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2015, 01:03 AM   #12
arkmnpszy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Can anyone tell me if it is possible to render with sound in maya?
arkmnpszy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2015, 02:46 AM   #13
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by arkmnpszy View Post
Hello again.
Now that I am trying to texture my objects in MAYA, can you tell me what is the best way?
Do I have to export my files to photoshop, or to autodesk mud box?


The "best" way of texturing comes down to a matter of resources and preferences I think. You could take your UV maps into Photoshop for painting however, I can't recommend it's 3D painting capabilities as its handling of obj files was pretty weak last I checked. Or you could take your models into Mudbox/Zbrush/Mari or whatever, there are quite a few others.


Originally Posted by arkmnpszy View Post
Can anyone tell me if it is possible to render with sound in maya?
I don't even know if the avi output for software render can do that. Even then, it's not worth the downsides. Common practice is to render out image sequences and add sound in post.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gen For This Useful Post:
arkmnpszy (23-06-2015)
Old 23-06-2015, 04:13 PM   #14
arkmnpszy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thank you, buddy!

Originally Posted by Gen View Post
The "best" way of texturing comes down to a matter of resources and preferences I think. You could take your UV maps into Photoshop for painting however, I can't recommend it's 3D painting capabilities as its handling of obj files was pretty weak last I checked. Or you could take your models into Mudbox/Zbrush/Mari or whatever, there are quite a few others.




I don't even know if the avi output for software render can do that. Even then, it's not worth the downsides. Common practice is to render out image sequences and add sound in post.
Thank you so much!
arkmnpszy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2015, 04:14 PM   #15
arkmnpszy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you, buddy!
arkmnpszy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.