Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-12-2006, 04:32 PM   #1
indigox3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default rigging instanced geometry

I've modelled one side of a character, and instanced many parts with a -1 scale to form the other side.

I'm running into a problem now though, when rigging the model. When I bind the original side of the body to some joints, all the instances on the other side of the body get bound as well.

Is there a way to "freeze" the instances some how and turn them into separate geometries?

There are alot of pieces that were instanced, so I don't want to have to delete all of the instances and redo them as duplicates if I can avoid it...
indigox3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 08:50 AM   #2
severinianthony
Registered User
 
severinianthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: rigging instanced geometry

Originally posted by indigox3
I'm running into a problem now though, when rigging the model. When I bind the original side of the body to some joints, all the instances on the other side of the body get bound as well.

...

There are alot of pieces that were instanced, so I don't want to have to delete all of the instances and redo them as duplicates if I can avoid it...
I believe you may have answered your own question there...

If you used the "instance" option when duplicating something, whatever you do to one half of a model WILL be done to the other side.

Using instancing is handy if you're modeling a character, per se, and while building half you want to see what the whole thing will look like as a whole, while you model one half, the other one will update with the same changes.

If you DO NOT want your other side acting like your original, go to

Edit -> Duplicate (Options Box)

and make sure the "Geometry Type" is set to "Copy" and NOT "Instance."

As for your case, I'm not certain if you can remove the instancing on instanced objects, and make them...well...not instances :headbang:
__________________

Last edited by severinianthony : 04-12-2006 at 06:34 AM.
severinianthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 09:57 AM   #3
indigox3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Re: rigging instanced geometry

Originally posted by severinianthony

As for your case, I'm not certain if you can remove the instancing on instanced objects, and make them...well...not instances :headbang:
Yeah, I couldn't find any options to do this, so I ended up writing a script to find the instances, delete them, duplicate the original, and rescale by -1......what a pain :angery:
indigox3 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.