Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-12-2006, 08:47 AM   #1
mrbozzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nesodden,Norway
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default gaaaaah texture prob

hi
i want to know how to texture different textures on same object f. eks:
if i had a parrot and wanted it to have yellow eyelashes and white face, but its the same object only extruded...

how can i make more than one texture on an object??

and how does people get up the screen so you only see the texture but its folded out so you can see the neck and throat at the same time only that they are sticking togheter flat???

thanks

here is an example i found just by googling it:

http://www.skrubbles.net/alien_gunsl...er_texture.jpg

look at the head...
mrbozzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 08:57 AM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

the process is called UV mapping, which uses UV coordinates (kinda like latitude and longitude) to tell maya what area on the object coincides with the texture you create. in the polygon UVs menu you'll see UV mapping types like planar, cylindrical, spherical, automatic, etc. you use those to create a UV set for your object, which you then lay out or arrange in the UV Texture Editor... you then create a UV snapshot (from the polygons menu in the uv texture editor) and open that up in photoshop, where you paint what colors you want where, and when you bring the newly painted texture into maya, your colors will go where you wanted them to.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 09:30 AM   #3
mrbozzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nesodden,Norway
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i dont really understand:/
if you can show me a photo and some arrows on pointing at what to do it would be nice
:bow:
mrbozzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 09:35 AM   #4
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Look at the Maya Docs and Help. It contains tute and info on UV Mapping
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 05:05 AM   #5
mrbozzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nesodden,Norway
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

didn't help
i made a new uv set but didn't understand this(i clicked the uv set but now what??):
"Select the new UV set (see Switch between UV sets).
Create UVs with one of the mapping operations or by copying."
:angery: :angery: :angery:
mrbozzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 05:31 AM   #6
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

mapping operation as under 'polygon UVs' menu... meaning planar, cylindrical, spherical, or automatic... after that, open your UV texture editor (found under window--> UV Texture Editor) and you'll see your UVs laid out. take a UV snapshot, save it as a tif or tga, and open it in photoshop. paint your texture there.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 04:50 PM   #7
mrbozzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nesodden,Norway
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks :bow: :bow:
i'll try after school, but how do i open the editor thingy where the planar mapping and stuff is?? when i click left mouse button>uv sets>testing then it doesnt happen anything except for when i go there again its a cross in the testing box and not in the map box...

and last, do i just add it in normal way??(click object>ramp material(in shelf)>checker box>file/psd file)

Last edited by mrbozzo : 11-12-2006 at 04:53 PM.
mrbozzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 08:28 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Think its in panels in the viewport selection menu under UV texture editor
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 10:50 PM   #9
mrbozzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nesodden,Norway
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the viewport thingy under uv editor is only how many panes i shall have(panes=its 4panes when you click space fast)

Last edited by mrbozzo : 12-12-2006 at 04:28 AM.
mrbozzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 09:41 AM   #10
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Originally posted by NeoStrider
open your UV texture editor (found under window--> UV Texture Editor) and you'll see your UVs laid out.
...
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 10:18 PM   #11
mrbozzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nesodden,Norway
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it wont show the texture...
when i make the empty uv texture then go texture editor for a triangle it only come up the grud and stuff but one of the 4 parts of the grid is darker grey
the grid is also in non-3d mode(so you se the grid on the whole screen and cannot turn around the camera)
mrbozzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 10:37 PM   #12
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

post some screen captures cause i can't picture what you're trying to describe.

(get them hosted at photobucket if you need to, it's free to create an account and upload pictures to an album)
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 11:47 PM   #13
mrbozzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nesodden,Norway
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

here is links(didn't want to push the design(simplymaya)):

start off with a cone and make an empty uv
http://i17.tinypic.com/2z8umqb.png

then go to uv editor, what now??
http://i11.tinypic.com/2re79mu.png
mrbozzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2006, 12:34 AM   #14
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ok first off you don't have to create a new UV set each time you want to UV map something... it's just not necessary.

let's start from the beginning.

1.) create a polygon sphere

2.) in hypershade (or multilister, whatever...) create blinn shader

3.) assign blinn shader to sphere

4.) while sphere is selected, go polygon UVs-->automatic mapping

5.) open the UV texture editor. if your sphere is still selected you should see your sphere 'taken apart'.

6.) in UV texture editor, go Polygons-->UV Snapshot, save as something other than jpg, and open in photoshop for editing (create a new layer, put it below your wireframe snapshot, and change the wirefram snapshot to 'screen')


if you can't get this far let me know.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2006, 03:14 AM   #15
mrbozzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nesodden,Norway
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

then what after that??
i made it so far:attn: :attn:

BTW: its the point that the picture that is folded out is black with white wireframe??
mrbozzo is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.