Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-12-2006, 02:08 PM   #1
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default polygon extrude face/edge tool ... wierd

hey guys... ived been using maya abit over a year now and i dont know if its my maya or it happends to everyone else ... well it Sirtenly doesnt happen in the maya tutorials which i watch.

well the problem here is that when i use the "extrude face or edge" tool, i always seem to get an extra vertex at the end if you get what i mean. is this ment to happen in maya or is there a setting in my polygon options which is on default or something?
when i move the middle vertex, there seems to be another one behind it.

heres a picture ...
i always get this but i just have to merge all the vertex's up but it takes too long when im doing a mouth and that when theres soo many..
(sorry about the image size)

Last edited by marlonjohn : 12-12-2006 at 02:10 PM.
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 08:35 PM   #2
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Weird...

You could always set the tolerance really low, like 0.001 or less and then just select all of the vertices in the area or even object! and hit merge. Since the verts are ontop of one another a tiny value will only merge the problem ones. I do it all the time to join two mirrored parts together. Lightning quick and works fine with the tolerance small enough (but not too small)

Had the same thing happen to me once, but can't for the life of me remember what the setting was that controlled it, having no need for maya to perform like this myself.

I though it was the keep faces together thing when I read your post, though I can't replicate it now, hmmm.

Somebody smart will know, but till then this'll save you some time.

Simon
enhzflep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 08:46 PM   #3
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

From your Image part 2 worries me, but also explains the problem.

You are doing the extrude face operation but you are extruding only one face, but you have the entire geometry selected. This will give you extra geometry called non-planer, this is a bad thing.

When doing an extrude you need only do it on the face that requires the extrusion. (in your case he right hand face on the cube).

So:

Select the Poly Cube
Right Click and select Faces (to go into Component mode)
Click on the little square of the face you want to extrude
Choose Edit Polygons > Extrude Face Click Apply
Use the Manipulator to pull out the face to where you want it.
Right Click On the object and choose Object (to go to Object/Standard Mode)
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 08:47 PM   #4
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well something strange that i notice is that in image 2 when you're extruding, the edges of the cube that are not involved seem to also have faces... which isn't right. not counting the new extruded part, you've got 9 faces showing on your cube(or at least 9 face selection handles), when there should only be 6 faces total in the whole cube... it makes me think that the reason there's extra verts is because it's extruding not only the 4 faces you think you're extruding, but also an additional 4 faces that should never have been there to begin with.

enhzflep's got the right solution, although i don't think i'd have my tolerance set so low... even a value like .05-.1 is usually sufficient without grabbing verts you don't want to be merged, but then again seeing how your cube is only 1X1X1 that's not a lot of space to move around anyway... so maybe a .01 would suffice for your case - but i think the important question would be, 'why are there so many faces on that poly object to begin with?'

edit: and after posting, i saw that ransid's (quicker?) post answered my question.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.

Last edited by NeoStrider : 12-12-2006 at 08:50 PM.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 09:18 PM   #5
erictacti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wow, that is strange. I've never seen anything like that. And I don't think there is a setting in Maya to do that, as it wouldn't make sense. But, you never know.

I can't offer an answer, but I can offer a couple suggestions.

First off, looking at your picture, it looks as though you have extruded that face twice. If you look at picture 2, you can see that there is that there is extra set of faces on all visible sides of the cube. That is pretty strange. That happens every time you use the tool? If so, that may be a setting. What version of Maya are you using?

Second, are you selecting the extrude face/edge tool from the toolbar, or from the dropdown menu? Whichever one you're using, try the other one. I doubt this well help, but you never know.

Hope you can get this worked out!

EDIT: I just saw R@nSiD's and NeoStrider's posts with the answer. I guess I've got to type faster:p
__________________
Eric Tacti
3D Artist
erictacti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 09:23 PM   #6
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

LOL...

Yeah I win :p
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 09:46 PM   #7
erictacti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol

What's the prize?!
__________________
Eric Tacti
3D Artist
erictacti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 09:49 PM   #8
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

hey guys, thanks for the feedback and comments... i figured out why this is happening. at last... instead of doing the method R@nSiD said which was the right way and which was this,

Select the Poly Cube
Right Click and select Faces (to go into Component mode)
Click on the little square of the face you want to extrude
Choose Edit Polygons > Extrude Face Click Apply
Use the Manipulator to pull out the face to where you want it.
Right Click On the object and choose Object (to go to Object/Standard Mode)

i did this method which was stupid of me :headbang: and explains and anwsers neostrider's and erictacti's question about why there was more faces. This was my way,

Select the Poly Cube
Extrude the cube.
Select the face which needed to be extruded.
Use the manipulator to pull out the face to where i wanted it to be.
Hit f8 twice to get out of component mode.

i cant believe i was soo silly to extrude the whole cube lol...
well my mistake guys, sorry for wasting your time ...

thanks again to enhzflep, R@nSiD, Neostrider and erictacti.
(erictacti: Hope you can get this worked out!, WOO worked it out)

cheers guys, marlon ...
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 10:13 PM   #9
erictacti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No problem. Glad it worked out for you!

EDIT: Even though I didn't really help out:p
__________________
Eric Tacti
3D Artist
erictacti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 11:50 PM   #10
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Originally posted by erictacti
Even though I didn't really help out:p
haha its okay ... your support helped out lol
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2006, 12:32 AM   #11
erictacti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh...Well, then glad to be of service:p

__________________
Eric Tacti
3D Artist
erictacti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extrude Manipulator does not appear Celebrus Technical Issues 11 15-10-2013 09:37 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.