Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-12-2006, 08:28 PM   #1
graphiac
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rendering a movie

I've downloaded Mcs tut on rendering movies however videomach is no longer available on download.com or anywhere else that I have found any other ways to render movies in maya 7 using only maya or can someone send me a copy of videomach or a download link to me please post link or send copy to
Graphiac@yahoo.com
graphiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2006, 02:50 AM   #2
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

just did a google and got 370,000 hits??
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2006, 03:40 AM   #3
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

http://www.soft32.com/download_18217.html

that should do it.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2006, 11:54 AM   #4
graphiac
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks for the link

it worked great but when I do my batch render I cannot find where the frames have been saved it says it was saved in Maya Projects when I click he movie real thing next to the render button can someone tell me how to simply save my batch render to my desktop?
graphiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 08:27 AM   #5
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

how long you been using maya?? i dont mean that in any condesending way, just curious. you might find the files/AVI in your 'images' folder, where they came from (at a guess) or do a search (start/search/...) and look for the name of the files/AVI, or at least the extention. i dont think your desktop is the best place for, i would assume your AVI ; i'd make a folder in 'my documents' or on the hard drive, but you might have your own reasons.

your question, when it asks if you want to save, or you 'save as' it is YOU who determines where the file goes, you know how to do this??

under where you put the name of your new AVI you can use that to navigate to wjere ever you want it to be saved to.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 06:57 PM   #6
graphiac
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Okay

I'll try the search method I'm a real noob to maya I've worked in poser and shade for about 3 years but and they have ways to render movies. However its automated and saves it to your projects folder so this processes is a little new to me
graphiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 08:18 PM   #7
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No stress, maya does the same thing.

If you've not created a project yet, look in the
MyDocuments\Maya\projects\default\images directory
that's where your renders are ending up at the moment.

To create a new project, here's a process you can use.
1)File->Project->New
2)In the Name field, enter the name e.g SimplyMaya
3)Hit the Use Defaults button
4)Hit the accept button

you've now got a new bunch of directories that resembles the directory structutre found under default.
Having done these 4 steps, you'll now find all your renders ending up in MyDocuments\Maya\projects\SimplyMaya\images

Kurt goes through this process in (at least) one of the free tutes found on this site. I think it was the human or the dog.

btw, if ** I ** enter C:\Documents and Settings\enhzflep\Desktop\Render(change enhzflep to reflect your windows username) in the "FileNamePrefix" option box in the Render Settings window, the renders will end up on my desktop, with the name Render.XXX - If you don't set the Image Format option to AVI, you'll end up with a _heap_ of files on your desktop. = NOT COOL..

NOTE: This is really not the right way to go about this, but it will accomplish what you asked for. You'd really be better off if you checked out a tute that's covered this already.

EDIT: I've just checked, and it's the first part of the Basic Human Form tute that goes through this in more detail.


Simon

Last edited by enhzflep : 20-12-2006 at 02:46 AM.
enhzflep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2006, 03:43 AM   #8
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

mate, really you need a basics tut, or a book called 'foundation' released by maya/alias/autodesk?? whatever whoever they are now??

if your serious about maya, this approach to the basics, asking on SM, will take forever.

if you get the foundation book, there are differant ones for maya 6 through to 8, as far as i know though, but the basics are the same.

invest in that and you will learn more in one week than trying by correspondance through this medium than in 6 months, but if you prefer the company, up to you?

if you do not know how to create a project then really, get that book and follow Simon's advice because that simple way of creating a project he has descibed (via one of Kurt's free tuts i should imagine, and if you download just one of the free tuts too, well all answers about creating a project is answered there and then) is ommitted from the book, the book does everything the long way (instead of hit defaults it tells you to type in every folder in 'edit project' before 'set project', and thats a drag but at least you know what it is all about).

show us the results when done, t?? you will get a lot of advice that way.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2006, 06:40 AM   #9
graphiac
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I'm way ahead of you

I got the maya 7 foundation book tonight I'm serious about learning maya. The workflow of maya is much different from anything I've every used. Getting closer every click I guess...
graphiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carton Love [ Short movie ] ColdWave Work In Progress 19 03-01-2011 09:55 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.