Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-01-2007, 04:17 AM   #1
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Batch Render Problems

Hello folks,

I've got a bit of a problem with my batch rendering and am hoping that someone might be able to help.

Basically it's gone into super slow mode, for example I made a very simple animation of a sphere moving a short distance in Y and back to it's start position, just lambert 1 as a shader and default light. The render time when I hit the render frame button is 1 second but when I batch render it (even at low quality on Maya Software) it's taking in excess of 5 minutes per frame.

I've never had a problem like this at all and it's starting to annoy me as I've got a bunch of stuff that I need rendering out by next Monday.

Any ideas or thoughts would be appreciated?

Cheers,

Mat.
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 07:06 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Sounds strange that mate, youve not changed any of the render setting in the batch render options at all have you, although I dont think that would make a diffference at all really??

Bit stumped..

Are you rendering simply by going to render->batch render of via a exe file for multiple scenes (as one of your render flags might be set wrong and making a mad calculation)?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 08:04 PM   #3
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hey there Steve,

I've not done anything to any of the settings and am just rendering out via Render > Batch Render.

There wouldn't usually be a problem but as it's for another university project haste was needed. Basically it's a mini site covering the basics of Hair and Fur, I needed to render out a demonstration of what adjusting the values would do to each attribute in the fur menu using default lion mane as the start point (25 animations or so, each at 49 frames).

Because it needed to be done quickly I ended up rendering each frame seperately then collecting the 49 frames from the tmp file putting them into a new folder and starting the next animation. Very boring but at least it's done now (5 - 10 minutes to do each animation rather than an hour!).

I've since made another animation for the project illustrating how to use dynamic hair curves to make a dynamic joint chain and that rendered out 100 frames in a few seconds, go figure!!

Cheers,

Mat.
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 08:18 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Mad as a box of frogs!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.