Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-01-2007, 08:20 PM   #1
davidchan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Urgent simple question,pls help

i want to make the rotation axis match the world axis,
How to do it ???
Please help me, i am new to maya~~~
Attached Thumbnails
 
davidchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 09:06 PM   #2
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

modify>freeze transformations..
and modify>center pivot
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 09:43 PM   #3
davidchan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy

Error: Freeze Transfor was not applied because boxCover.rotateX has incoming connection.

what this mean?
Attached Thumbnails
 
davidchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 11:11 PM   #4
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

oh, delete its history first
it should work

edit>delete by type>History

unless you need those 2 non-linear deformers that have been applied to the cube.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 11:18 PM   #5
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

u can set the rotate tool's option to rotate in world axis [or locally]
u go to the rotate tool options [modify>trans tool>rotate[option box]]
__________________
Image dump

Last edited by vladimirjp : 06-01-2007 at 11:21 PM.
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2007, 12:05 AM   #6
davidchan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

IT WORK WORK WORK !!!!
THANK YOU VER MUCH!!!!
davidchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2007, 02:52 AM   #7
DotNet54
Registered User
 
DotNet54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

im having a similar problem


when i combine polygons the scale tools pivot is not align to world axis so when change scale the object streaches in
the wrong way distorting the objects original shape
, so how do i align pivot to world axis

i tried freeze transformation, deleting history, center pivot,
and all the settings of scale tool

the same thing happens for move and rotate tool


here a top view and perspective view print screen
Attached Thumbnails
 
DotNet54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.