Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-01-2007, 09:23 PM   #1
JamesP
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default rendering/lighting question

Guys/Girls,

I'm in the process of building a test set for my final year project at uni.

The whole thing is set in a lift, so I wanted to build the set by using a polygon and reversing the normals, so the cube is inside out.

My scene will include a fair bit of lighting - and at the time of writing, I'm looking at about 3/4 cameras set up in different locations in the lift.

This is where yet another n00b questions comes into play
When rendering a camera, will it render what's not visible to the camera's lens? For example, my lift will have a fairly complex button system, but won't be on show for many of the shots, so when rendering a camera that's not displaying this, will it calculate it's texture and lighting? If so, is there a way so turn this off when it's not in the render view?

My second question regards the reverse poly cube that I want to fashion into my set: If I apply global illumination to my scene, will it be shown inside the poly cube???

Thanks for reading...


James
JamesP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 05:28 AM   #2
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

James,

As far as I know, all clipping is done before the texture and lighting calcs. If the polygon (either the ones you've drawn, or the ones the object is converted to at render time, in the case of nurbs/subds) isn't visible then that's it for the polygon, no more time wasting calcs are performed.

Just checked, yep - it does work like this. I rendered a scene in 2 1/2 mins, then zoomed in on a tiny fraction of this scene and re-rendered. This time it took 1 min. In the second shot there were 2 - 3 times as many pixels being coloured (textured/lit) and it stil took 2/5ths of the time.

As for GI, not sure. It's not something I've delved into yet. If there was a setting for 2 sided lighting or something like that, it is probably there that you could control this.

Simon.
enhzflep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 05:38 AM   #3
JamesP
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks Simon for your help,

I didn't think to actuall road test a render...d'oh!

Thanks again,

James
JamesP is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.