Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-01-2007, 02:01 PM   #1
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default gravity problem

hey guys, well since i havnt touched gravity/dynamics for quiet a while i decided to brush up on it. when i try to add gravity to a ball/object or anything, an error comes up saying: "Error: pSphere1 owns no fields. Please select a field or an object which owns one." it seems there is no fields? what is that...

thanks, marlon
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 02:03 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Seems a bit strange, hae you checked using the connection editor if the field is connected to the object?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 02:18 PM   #3
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

wow thanks for the quick response. ermm there seems to be nothing in the connection editor when i look, am i doing something wrong?
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 02:38 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

When your creating the field you should select the sphere then create the field.

If you want to you can connect the field to the objet by selecting the object then going to fields and selecting the graviey field.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 02:50 PM   #5
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

i do select the sphere then create the field but nothing happends and error pops up. this is wierd usually along time ago i just have to select the object and create gravity field but not anymore.

do you think it can be something else like in an option where i have accidently disabled gravity or some sort?
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 02:52 PM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Dont think so but you might have???

Have you tried connecting it via the connection editor?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 03:04 PM   #7
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

i have kind of tryed but i think im doing something wrong or missing a step, can you tell me the proper steps of doing that... thanks
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 03:13 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Go to window->relationships editors->Dynamic Relationships

then you should see a list of items on the left select your sphere an then the gravity field should be displayed, if its highlighted then its connected to the sphere if its not then connect it by selectin the gravity field. see if that works man.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 03:29 PM   #9
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

its not highlighted so then i connected it... but i think it still dosnt work because when i press play on the time/range slider my object/sphere dosnt roll down a 45degree floor(plane) it dosnt even budge and move an inch. wierd,
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 03:34 PM   #10
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Strange that dude, does this work?

Its a simple poly ball on a poly plane with a gravity field attached to the sphere.

see if it works on your system (its in maya 6.0 by the way)
Attached Files
File Type: mb rigid_test.mb (53.8 KB, 24 views)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 03:43 PM   #11
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

(im using maya 7.0 btw)
wow it works ... why isnt it happen to me! arrghh...

i wanted to see and fiddle around with the scene to see if i can try to create a ball and attach gravity to it and this is what happends...

i created a sphere and attached gravity to it, at 0.1 seconds i see at the bottum right the error come up but then another one comes up, "Error: No object matches name: |". i also added create active riggid body to the new sphere and now when i play the scene, after both of the balls hit the ground my ball just starts to rise slowly like theres no gravity?
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 03:46 PM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Strange???

I might be upgrading soon to maya 8, from uni, not too sure if im looking forward to it though.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 06:04 AM   #13
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

hmm wierd...

"I might be upgrading soon to maya 8, from uni, not too sure if im looking forward to it though."

yeah i woudnt aswell but we might all have to learn it sometime in the future maybe, you might get a headstart

just wondering, can you post a picture of your gravity option box so i can see if i have accidently changed and clicked on something else. thanks,

does anyone else know the problem or should i just reinstall maya 7?

marlon
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 07:04 AM   #14
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Here you go, a screen grab of my gravity field settings, its just the default.

Dunno what it could be, maybe delete your preferences??
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 07:15 AM   #15
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

WOOOOHOOOO!

your gravity option box was the exact same as mine... out of no where i just felt like going to Edit --> Reset Settings... and it worked. and it didnt even change anything, wierd. Thanks for your help Gster

Marlon
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.