Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-01-2007, 11:11 PM   #1
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default Using History

I know this, is either a very amature question, or impossible..one of the two..But
How woudl one use history to say for instance....
go back to the unsmoothed version of a peice of geometry, after maya had been saved and closed out...
because..eh.. i ... closed and saved maya after i'd smoothed two peices of geometry to see how they were looking....i forgot i smoothed them.
G
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2007, 11:39 PM   #2
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

You can't. Once you close Maya the history is erased.

Get in the habit of creating multiple saves. For instance:

save1.ma
save2.ma
save3.ma
save4.ma
etc.

That way you always have something to go back to in case the latest file gets corrupted or you do something you shouldn't have done.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2007, 11:55 PM   #3
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I normally do, was just working so fast on this..only spent like 15 minutes on it the entire night and it never occured to me to save... No bother..i'll just remodel it..or deal wiht laying out the uv's on the smoothed version one.. which ever is faster..
G
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2007, 12:06 AM   #4
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

You could always try using the Reduce Poly button. Get it down to a manageable poly count then rearrange the CVs.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2007, 03:12 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

When My historys turned on I can smooth an object save the scene, close maya, open it up again and the smooth function is still there in the attribute editor. Just tested it out to make sure.

Or am I missing the point?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2007, 04:12 PM   #6
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yea as long as you didnt use the clear history command, in your attributes editor under the IMPUTS section there should be a imput called PolySmoothFace. CLick on that and change your divisions to 0 and you will have your base mesh again.
99GsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2007, 04:39 PM   #7
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@gster123 - Knew I should have posted this earlier. I was thinking the same thing.

I think Dave means that the Undo List is nuked when you exit maya, as opposed to the Construction History. Just loose use of terminology.

Another way of doing it is to open the object in the attribute editor, same as 99gsturbo's reply, you need to still have the object's construction history intact. If you select the tab called polySmoothFace1 or equiv, open the part called "Node Behaviour" you can change the NodeState dropdown box to Has No Effect. (Noe this has provided some with probs in the past, i.e selecting "Has No Effect" has no effect:p )

If you then copy the result of either way of doing it, you've got a nice, clean low poly version again.
enhzflep is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.