Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-01-2007, 05:48 PM   #1
e-anima
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Objekt moving kills uvs

hi,

i made an uv layout for my object painted a texture and made the uvs to look good/fit etc.

now i wanted to move my object. if i do that it kills my uv layout. i mean the texture is moving on the object and is distorted after i moved my object.

thx for help
e-anima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2007, 06:17 PM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

when you say 'move the object' do you mean you're trying to tweak the object, as in keep on modeling it, or are you moving it as in translating, scaling, or rotating the entire object?

if it's tweaking, it'll screw up the UVs.

if it's just translating or rotating, create a texure reference object. to learn how, search in the maya help documents for "texture reference object".
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2007, 10:44 AM   #3
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Yeah, texture referencing helps a lot for stuff like this. Are you using a 3D texture or some type of texture projection? That would explain your results.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2007, 05:31 AM   #4
e-anima
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank you for telling me what to look for. didn´t know how to call it.
e-anima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2007, 11:05 AM   #5
e-anima
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

read about it. created a texture object reference. but this does no work. texture is still moving when i translate.
e-anima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2007, 11:09 AM   #6
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Not possible if it was done right. Something wacky is happening. You gonna have to tell us more about what you tried if you want help. Also, some images of the texture "moving" would help. Maybe even post your file.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2007, 12:06 AM   #7
e-anima
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i did it like the maya help says. i clicked my objekt and created a texture reference. then i translated my object and nothing changed.
my object is the tree in these scene. i upped a rar and a self extracting archive. both contain the same scene.



thank you for your help

TREE RAR
TREE SELF EXTRACTING ARCHIVE
e-anima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2007, 02:24 AM   #8
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Sorry, the file won't open. I'm still on Maya 7.

I just want to check, you're doing renders to check your texture... right? Sometimes it will look like the texture is not sticking to you model in Maya, but then when you actually do renders it looks right.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2007, 02:54 AM   #9
e-anima
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

its a maya 8 file. my uni seems to be rich
Rendering and stuff all works.
I only want to translate the tree z:5 and that results in a screwed texture with swimming effect and displacement on the model

i want to freeze the texture wto the model so that nothing can kill it.
e-anima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2007, 03:06 AM   #10
e-anima
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Guys i got it.

DELETE HISTORY fixes that problem.
e-anima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2007, 03:09 AM   #11
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Phew!!

I was wondering what the heck would make texture referencing not work. Remember, when in doubt... delete the history. Maya hates history.

Congrats!
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.