Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-02-2007, 09:13 PM   #1
Hoshi87
Registered User
 
Hoshi87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Maya dynamics problem

Hello again,

I've been following this tutorial about creating a realistic liquid in maya using its dynamics. It's helped me out as I'm very new to learning about particles but I'm having some trouble.
I've changed my particle render type as Blobby Surface (s/w) and when I go to change the radius it changes just fine, but when I try to change the threshold attribute nothing happens. I thought it was a problem with my Maya 7, so I tried to do the same thing in Maya 8 but again, nothing changes. I don't know if there's something I'm doing wrong...can someone please help me? I'd just like it to look more liquidy instead of bubbly.

Thanks.
Hoshi87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 09:19 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

When you say nothing happens do you mean it wont let you change the value or it does but "nothing happens".

Do you run back to the start of the timeframe before playing the scene (as effects dont sometimes take effect untill you start playback, also you need to have "play every frame" set in the settings as this messes up dynamic simulations. also if youve got a chash of particles delete them as this might be the problem.

Other than that you could try extreemes of values as the solver might have changed from when the tutorial was made?

If you still have probs post a pic.

Cheers
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 11:37 AM   #3
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

threshold is only visible when you render it's how the blobbies blend together. you wont see it in open GL


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 06:36 PM   #4
Hoshi87
Registered User
 
Hoshi87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your help guys. I didn't realize it was only visible when I rendered (^_^; )
Hoshi87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.