Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-02-2007, 09:59 AM   #1
BeckyHew
Registered User
 
BeckyHew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy UV Mapping Problems

Hi everyone,
I've recently changed from using 3DS Max to Maya and I'm having problems with my UV mapping and texturing. First of all, I automatically unwrapped a cylinder and took a UV snapshot. Then I went into Photoshop and painted a basic texture over the top of the guidelines. I saved it as a TIFF.

However, when I tried to apply the texture to the colour section of my shader (Lambert), the colours only showed up on the vertices of my model (see attached image). It was like the rest of the texture was transparent, but as far as I could see it wasn't.

Am I missing something obvious?

I'd really appreciate any help!
Attached Thumbnails
 
BeckyHew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2007, 12:07 PM   #2
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

i`m betting maya is using the tiffs alfia channel as a transparancy map.

Disconted it in the hypershade or save your tiffs with out the channel in photoshop
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2007, 03:08 PM   #3
petrol
Subscriber
 
petrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 351
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm guessing the tweetster is right too.

And if you don't understand how to do that, just save as a 24 bit instead of a 32 bit file when it asks (if it does... I always use TGA's)
petrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2007, 05:07 PM   #4
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

when saving in photoshop t asks you wher you want to save it, if you look it will also have a tick box next to save althia .
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2007, 02:45 AM   #5
BeckyHew
Registered User
 
BeckyHew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks so much!

I'll try that out.

I really appreciate the help.

:bow:
BeckyHew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2007, 02:55 AM   #6
BeckyHew
Registered User
 
BeckyHew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's worked - thanks everyone!
BeckyHew is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.