Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-02-2007, 01:25 PM   #1
deathwish
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 170
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya 8

Guys

are any of you having an issue with maya 8 where you create a basic plain place a jpg/tga.. and it only shows half or some of the picture?

do we need to change the size of the plain to match the picture now or is there a setting i am missing.
deathwish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2007, 09:12 PM   #2
younglion
Registered User
 
younglion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: t-dot
Posts: 646
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it quite simple you just have to uv map it, so it shows the image correctly.
__________________
wip
Kleemann cl65
my concept car
younglion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2007, 12:33 AM   #3
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

depends how you map, if you are using a nurbs plane this is the only way I can think of where only half the plane is mapped, if your using polys..?? well too many maybes to go into.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2007, 12:53 AM   #4
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

If the poly planes are for Image references then insure you have the poly plane set to the same size as the original image, change Mayas default geometry measurements to cm's and check the image to ensure they match.

If its just to map a file texture then please ensure you UV Map it correctly. There are free tutes here that cover UV Mapping and also in the Maya Help Files (F1) and there are numerous tutorials online that cover creating image planes.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.