Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-02-2007, 02:32 PM   #1
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default Best batch render ?

I never does batch render .. and now i have a scean about 900 frames animation and i want to render it with good quality ...

my PC - > 3Ghz 1 GB ram 256 Video ( if this matter )




So how i can batch render it with best quality to look good ... which are the settings ...

ColdWave
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2007, 12:26 AM   #2
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

check the free tuts here, you can download one by Mike that will give you all the news about how to batch render

too much to go into here, unless Simon wants to save yu He likes writting essays
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2007, 01:17 AM   #3
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

To set up the quality for a batch render is the same as rendering a single frame. Its all setup in the Render Globals.

Open it (the clapper board, with the 2 dots on the left in the menu) and set the render globals to whatever render you wish to use. Say, Maya Software. Change the settings in there to match what your preference is and then go to the common tab and change the following:

File Prefix Name (optional)
Frame/Animation Ext from name.ext (single frame) to one of the options the are not Single Frame and is to you liking. Choose name.#.ext (this is the file name followed by the frame number followed by the file extension)
Image Format to your prefered option (I advise choosing TGA, TIF or JPEG) - note; do not use the avi option for rendering movies. Try it once and you will see why )
Set the start frame to 1 and the end frame to 900 (as this is the length of the animation - you may have to change this to suit each camera if you have multiple cameras in scene and in post want to chop and change from one to another)
Since your animation is 900 frames then change the Frame Padding to 3. At the top you will notice it changes the example file to blahblah.001.tga to blahblah.900.tga (or something similar).
Ammend the camera to the one your animation is set for (Default is Persp)
Finally ammend the Image size settings to the size you want.

Now Choose the Rendering Menu set from the drop down on the left and go to Render > Batch Render and click on the option box and tick Use all Available Processors and cick the Batch Render Button and away you go.

I suggest you run a few single frame renders at random throughout you animation so you are happy with the scene layout, lighting, effects, camera angles etc... Also run a playblast to check you happy with the scene and the animation.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2007, 01:47 AM   #4
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

oh 10x a lot man
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2007, 04:50 PM   #5
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

you might like to render in layers too, you can do the shadows separately, or the objects and background separately (example if the background does not move or the camera is not tracking) and rely on your alpha channel when you put it into your compositor.

rendering layers, might be worth rendering just the moving parts of the animation.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2007, 02:53 AM   #6
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

it's not anything complicated ... its simple scean with some charachter animation ... it's my first project :attn: i don't get any good details or any good shading networks ... but with practise i will get better

ColdWave
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.